Help with the house in the beautiful near- alpine region, country Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

206 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    29  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I live in beautiful, East Gippsland, Victoria, in the small town of Swifts Creek, up in the Victorian Alps, kind of halfway between Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra.
    (Melbourne is 4 to 5 hours away by car, longer by bus. Canberra likewise. Sydney is about 8 by car, longer by bus.)

    Swifts Creek is close to the mountains, national parks, walking and bike tracks, and caves. It truly is a glorious little place. We are driving distance to some other beautiful areas, including the local alpine resorts.
    I moved here in January 2016, as local minister/priest but a large part of my work is as a comunity development worker and social worker in some remote mountainous villages ...

    After years of drought, and developing a program of drought support and relief, we are now expanding this to include supporting those in my region badly affected by fire. I hope you can help us.

    I appreciate travel companions. I frequently travel amongst part of the lovely Snowy Mountains, and many of my workers have had the chance to see some amazing places- often in parts of the world few usual tourists would go, especially in the regional national parks. You might be able to help out with community events, if you wanted to.

    My garden used to be a showplace, and is only now getting back to a decent state. It has potential. Your help would be appreciated.

    My house is comfortable, with several bedrooms, with double and queen beds. One bathroom shared by all. Household help is MUCH appreciated

    Summer is lovely here. I have lots of cosy bedding. I live in the Victorian Alps. I love exploring the mountains. It might be cold, cool or warm, but it will be beautiful!

    Swifts Creek is accessible by public transport. There is none in town though, so we walk, or I drive us. Still we are talking small town here, so distance is not great.

    Life gets hectic here at times, but there are always interesting things to do and see, and people to meet... Even in my own job sphere you will meet fun and quirky people.

    Maybe you enjoy creating gardens and lovely places, or would just like to explore rural Australia, and help out for a little while in a remote but happy house? Maybe you could help in the garden? Or in the house? I am thinking perhaps part of the day, say 4 hours, and then you can just chill out?
    Come visit, and find out for yourself.

    #############

    You should ensure that you have your own travel insurance cover as you stay here at your own risk. I cannot accept responsibility for any loss, injury or damage.


    The city of Melbourne, or indeed Sydney or Canberra, is too far to go there and back in one day. Eg. You can't pop down to Melbourne to shop and be back here in time for dinner.


    My hosting will suit 2nd year visas... Volunteer work is acceptable in a fire-region charity. I organise such a charity

    Based on recent experience, you should look at a map before contacting me. A applicant has only just discovered that my house is a long way from Cairns!

    I am sorry but I do not provide Melbourne /Avalon airport pick-ups or drop-offs. It is too far from my home. I can provide some travel advice to you.




    Some things to note:
    Meals provided.
    If you have diet requirements, please advise in your enquiry contact.
    Smoking not accepted inside.
    Small shops in town.
    No night clubs or cinema.
    Daytime buses to bigger towns and shops.
    Wifi available

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda de caridad
    Ayuda informática / Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You would see an amazing and iconic part of Australia.... Famous, beautiful, remote and untouched by human hands. Not even many Australians get to see this, and explore. This would be a unique opportunity for you to see the fabulous, fabled High Country.
    You will meet some great Australian farmers, and find out how they live in this challenging environment.
    Come and see how real Australians live, in mountains and valleys!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Maybe you enjoy creating gardens and lovely places, or would just like to explore rural Australia, and help out for a little while in a remote but happy house? Maybe you could help in the garden?
    Occasionally you may be asked to help out with a community charity project.
    I am thinking that for part of the day, say 3-4 hours, you help, and then you can just chill out?
    Come visit, and find out for yourself.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I live alone in a comfortable house

    You will have:
    Own bedroom..
    Shared bathroom and living room

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Some things to note:
    Swifts Creek is too far from Melbourne to pop down and back in a day.
    Internet wireless provided.
    Meals provided.
    Small shops in town.
    No night clubs or cinema in my town

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 to 4 hrs a day 5 days a week

The mountain forests...
Looking across the High Plains to the Snowy Mountains
Down by the beach...
On the beachfront

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 852136346756