Lakeside home on Manitoulin Island, the largest freshwater Island in the world, Canada

Country

Canadá

89 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live in a lakeside home with 100 feet of shoreline on the North Channel of Lake Huron on Manitoulin Island (Rainbow Country!). The Globe and Mail has listed Manitoulin Island as #1 in the Canadian Hidden Gem travel guide 2019.
    We moved here in May, 2017 and love the house. Between the house and the lake is a lawn that is starting to turn into the garden that was designed for us. We hope you will help us continue to transform it into a haven for birds and wildlife. We do not have 'green thumbs!' The past 2 summers we have had a good start on the planting thanks to our Workawayers!

    In addition to our garden project, we are also looking for help with vegan cooking, light housekeeping, general home and property upkeep and companionship for Julie.

    Who are we? Julie and Michael are in our 50's and we have 3 cats (1 is a new foster cat). Julie is a former yoga teacher enrolled in yoga therapy training and Mike is a volunteer firefighter and cabinetmaker currently working at a number of jobs. We are quiet types, fairly introverted but enjoy good company. Julie has chronic fatigue and is home most of the time, and quite limited in what she can do. Mike enjoys windsurfing, kitesurfing and paddleboarding (SUP). In our 20's we travelled extensively for 1 year: Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Turkey, England, Poland, Belgium, Netherlands.

    Languages: English and some French

    We have a large bedroom downstairs with a fantastic view of the lake for our Workaway visitor(s). When not working, you would be able to learn yoga and meditation from an experienced teacher (her health condition permitting), try your hand at windsurfing or paddleboarding, check out the attractions on the Island, or hang out in the hammock just taking it easy. As with many other places, COVID-19 has limited the activities that are available on Manitoulin.

    Our home is located on a long road with other lakeside properties and is a 15 minute drive from a full service town. There is limited public transportation provided by Northland in combination with a taxi service that makes stops around the Island including nearby Sheguiandah, and into the city of Sudbury. Julie however would be happy to drive you to various sightseeing locations, hiking spots, First Nation pow-wows, or other places you might like to visit (again health permitting).

    Currently we follow a lazy vegan diet mostly from packages. If you like to cook, that would be awesome, but if not, you can dig through the freezer and pantry like we do. Cooking is definitely not our skill set. We hope to transition to a way of eating that reduces reliance on packaged foods but that doesn't involve us cooking. If you would like to cook and freeze meals for us, that would help.

    We would expect you to help with the garden project, light housekeeping, or cooking 5 days a week with flexibility around the weather. If it's very hot, then choosing the hours to be outside is a good idea.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Workaway visitors will be able to experience life in rural northern Ontario on the largest freshwater island in the world! We can also share our travel experiences and compare what travelling was like pre-Internet to now.
    Learn yoga, meditation, windsurfing.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Garden (May-October): Help select plants at the garden centre, prepare the ground, plant, water, measure the area for the beds following the landscape design. We have a fully designed garden plan that tells us what plants to put where. The plants are mostly shrubs, some perennials, and trees. When there are no plants for planting, then help with weeding, watering, and maintaining the home will be needed.
    Home (November-March or rainy days during May-October): Vegan cooking, organizing areas in the house, cleaning (vacuuming, loading/unloading dishwasher, washing kitchen floors, cleaning bathrooms, cleaning cat litter, tidying, taking out the garbage and recycling, etc), snow clearing, other tasks that come up, and keeping company with Julie while Mike's working.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Large bedroom with a double bed, shared sitting area with television, private bathroom. Shared meals in the kitchen, lots of shared deck space to enjoy the view. Smaller bedroom also available if not travelling as a couple or for an additional Workawayer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    *****Mike and Julie both have parents in long-term care on the Island and they are designated caregivers. As well, Michael's job involves transporting patients to and from healthcare facilities. It is absolutely vital that Workawayers take seriously COVID 19 precautions as recommended by Public Health. Mask wearing and social distancing prior to arrival are critical.*****

    Manitoulin Island is the home of various farming communities and First Nation Reserves. Cultural opportunities such as attending pow-wows that run on different weekends during pow-wow season and festivals such as the Bluegrass Festival and Haweater Festival. Beautiful beaches, hiking trails, day cruises and more.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can accommodate a fairly large campervan.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets must be cat friendly.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our cats love our workawayers!
Mike and Julie
Kris and Miguel working their magic in the kitchen.
Nina and Fabian planting the larch tree that survived its first winter and is greening up in the Spring of 2020!
June dawn from the deck
Mike and Julie with Workawayers Julia and Valentine
This is why Manitoulin is known as Rainbow Country
Kitchen where we'll have meals together.
Creativity of Workawayers Julia and Valentine

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 845333228322