Help on our Ecotourism farm with tourists, farm work and help Venus improve her English. Galapagos islands, Ecuador.

  • 823 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 may 2024



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más



  • Descripción


    We are a family of 4, mother (Eugenia), father (Rolando), adult daughter (Venus) and her son (Benjamin). Other family members visit on the weekend. We live in Cascajo, a small village located 20 minutes away from Puerto Ayora, the main town of Santa Cruz island. Another daughter (Grace) manages the Workaway website and has the initial contact with volunteers.

    We are an eco-tourism farm which co-exists with nature preserving all of the natural and endemic species.
    We produce and sell fresh cheese every day as a family enterprise. We also sell our bananas, lemons and more. In addition, we have a touristic experience that offers a tour of the farm where we explain about the animals, the plants, how to make sugar cane juice from the trapiche, the lava tunnel and the crater. The farm also has ecological trails, a lagoon for birds, and a farm petting zoo.

    We sell coffee and cake to our tour visitors in a large room with a beautiful view of the landscape and the coastline... For the adrenaline lovers, there are big swings!

    We can only have one volunteer at any time. We cannot accommodate couples. For our volunteer, we have a private bedroom with a private bathroom in a separate modern building from the main house. There is NO hot water in the bathroom. We provide 2 meals a day and small snack or tea for dinner and you will eat together with the family in the main house.

    We have internet .
    You must love nature and the countryside as we are quite isolated. You should enjoy filling your afternoon's free hours independently. Buses run to the town only a few times a day and cost $1 or you can take a taxi for $8-10.

    Sometimes my dad goes to town with his truck and can bring you to the farm. We live 7km from a small beautiful beach called “Playa El Garrapatero”.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn to cook Ecuadorian food, learn about farm tourism and farm life. Learn about the flora and fauna of Galapagos Islands. Practice your Spanish with my mother and other workers while you work and eat together. Learn about animal care, make cheese.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for someone who can stay for at least 1 month. You must be an English native speaker or speak an excellent level of English to have conversations with Venus in order to help her improve her English daily, branching into topics of Ecotourism, Agriculture and Nature - it is appreciated if the volunteer already has an interest in these areas or is creative. They will also be expected to prepare one English lesson a day for Venus' young son, Benjamin, who is already learning English at school and would like to receive additional support to improve. We need our volunteer to have a good attitude towards our visiting guests, and someone that is willing to learn about tourism in the countryside. We need people who will take the initiative and offer to help when they see a need to.

    We need help with different types of work, so it is better if you can help in all of these activities because life on a farm is different every day:

    - Gardening
    - Animal care
    - Maintenance of trails
    - Making cheese
    - Painting, decorating and being a creative person. Artists are more than welcome.
    - Teaching English
    - Skills in marketing or tourism to help us with this part of the enterprise, and help with guests

    Our farm is not for lazy people. Breakfast is at 7:00am and work starts right after. We will be like family to you if you have a positive attitude.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I want to practice English daily with the volunteer, when we work together we will still speak English.

  • Alojamiento


    In exchange for the help you provide, we will provide 2 hot meals a day and snack or tea for dinner, a private bedroom with an en suite modern bathroom but no hot water. The food is from our farm, so it is organic. There are hammocks for you to relax.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The farm is close to Garrapatero beach 10 minutes by car, 1 hour and half by foot.
    We don’t smoke but we tolerate smokers. Puerto Ayora is the center of tourism for the Galapagos islands so this Paradise is there to explore on your time off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week with 2 days off

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 838433159137

Comentarios (13)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.8)

Help out in the local hostel combined with community help in Puerto Engabao, Ecuador
Help with painting, art and driftwood projects at our beach hostel in Ecuador