Gardening, painting and small home repairs in the beautiful countryside of Charentes, France

  • 15 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 13 may 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We're three friends (1 couple + 1 friend) with 2 dogs (Igor & Boris) and we just relocated to France, in the beautiful countryside of Charentes to start a new life. We purchased a 4 hectare property - 2 of forest, 1 of land and 1 with the property) right in the middle of the Cognac Vineyard. The land is already giving us a lot ( 10 apple trees, a pear tree, a fig tree, chestnut trees, dozen of truffle trees, etc.) and the gardens have beautiful rose and lavender bushes but we're rookies at maintaining all of this. We have a pool (in good state), a tennis court (badly needing renovation) and all sorts of cool features and rooms that need maintenance or that are waiting for a new life (former stables, bread oven room, a well, etc.). The property is relatively remote with the first shop 9 km away.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The 3 of us have very different backgrounds. One French (management consultant), one Dutch (experience designer) and one Malaysian (sales & medical). Our house is a cultural melting pot and we have friends and family visiting from a bit everywhere. One of us has retrained as a cook so he has experience to share, and we've had a veggie garden for 4 so we have a bit of experience with that (although it was in tropical climate so we sort of have everything to relearn here). Overall, we've been around quite a bit, traveled a lot, lived in 5 different countries, so we have a decent amount of life experience to share.

  • Ayuda


    There is just.... A LOT to do. More than we had imagined, so it's hard to know where to start. If you're more on the gardening side, we'd like to better maintain and exploit the orchard (in particular the truffle trees), maintain and develop the flower bushes, and develop fruit and vegetable garden (the space is ready for 10 veggie patches). We're also thinking, if you're up for it, of getting chickens but the whole thing needs to be set up.

    Looking at the building, inside and outside, there is also a lot to do if you're more on the handy side. From small things such painting or small repairs to bigger things such as partitioning or isolating rooms, to fully developing new rooms like former stables... it's all up for grab.

    Unlikely you get bored, whatever you're good at or like to do.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Indonesian: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Between the three of us, we speak 6 languages fluently and we'd be happy to help you progress in any of them.

  • Alojamiento


    You'll have your own room with a queen bed in the main house. You can have full access to the facilities of the property like the gym (a bit run down we also plan to renovate it), the sauna, the pool, the bikes or the tennis. You'd probably be better of with a car given that we're a bit remote. We have a good bicycle that you're welcome to use but it's hilly around here, and we have a decent scooter that you can also ride if needed.

    We do offer accommodation and you're welcome to join us for all three meals every day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The region is mostly known for its production of Cognac so there is a lot to do and learn about the whole cycle from production to tasting and cooking. The city of Angoulême, 30 km away, is know for its international comic book festival (January) and vintage car race (September). You're 1h drive from the Atlantic Ocean and the train stations to Paris, Bordeaux, Nantes or La Rochelle are 30 min away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The entire building is covered in wifi. The connection is on fiber. We have a seminar room that we used as office most of the time.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    The place has two private carparks that could fit a campervan.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We love animals. One of our dogs isn't super friendly to other dogs but the other one is. It'd take a bit of time to settle in with another dog but eventually it always works.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 852957911886