Help with gardening and discover Southern Italy in Basilicata



304 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
  • Descripción


    We are a friendly, happòhtry couple with two grown-up children; a son, Vincenzo who is in Sardinia studying to become a doctor and a daughter, Valentina who has graduated in languages and running a English Language School. My husband is a chemical engineer and teaches chemistry in a Secondary school in Matera.. I have retired from teaching English as a second language. We both love socializing and meeting new people.

    We live in a country house located on the outskirts of Montescaglioso, a town rich in history and traditions situated in the Basilicata Region, in Southern Italy.
    The nearest city (a 20 min. drive away) is Matera, a Unesco World Heritage Site. It is a fascinating city, famous for its 'Sassi' and for having been the location for Mel Gibson's film The Passion. It has lots of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and of course great shopping!! It's an amazing place to explore if you enjoy cultural experiences, history and architecture.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Mantenimiento general

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for a couple to help us with: gardening jobs such as, pruning, weeding and cleaning the garden etc.; painting the external metal gates and railings and various other maintenance jobs in the house, or teaching English as a second language. There is no language barrier as the host, having lived 18 years in London, speaks perfect British English. Suitable period from January to June. Minimum period requested , two weeks onwards. The house is quite big and neither of us have the time to be able to cope with all that is needed to be done.

    Interested candidates should email us with what skills they could offer so that we can assess suitability. Ideal applicants should be active and fit with a friendly mature outlook on life who are seeking to find out and discover Southern Italy. This assignment is not suitable for someone looking for a hectic night life!! But it will appeal to anyone who is interested in art, culture, architecture, agriculture and good food.

  • Languages

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Italian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    You will be staying in the guest room, which is part of the house, but totally independent. It consists of a bedroom and a personal bathroom. Within the bedroom, there is a king sized bed, a built- in wardrobe, two bedside cabinets, a table, an easy chair and a private shower room with toilet, sink and bidet.

    The guest room overlooks the garden where you can find a vineyard and a variety of fruit trees such as a fig tree, a plum tree and an apple tree. It doesn't have its own cooking facilities but we will provide a small fridge so that you can keep drinks cool. See photos attached.

    Meals provided will be self-service breakfast and a typical Montese lunch prepared by the host, Maria Carmela. We will enjoy lunch together with a glass or two of local wine in the tavernetta. You will need your own transport if you wish to visit the surrounding area. There are buses which take you there and back to Matera every hour. The closest airport is Bari and there are buses which take you there from Matera.

    In exchange for free accommodation, self service breakfast and a main meal which will be served at lunchtime everyday, we require five hours work everyday (usually 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. but this can be flexible). It would be nice to have lunch with the hosts, in the tavernetta, so as to feel part of the family. The afternoons and the evenings are your free time to explore the local area or simply relax and enjoy reading a book in the tavernetta or outside on the patio under the porch (I have a wide variety of English novels you could choose from).

    The house is surrounded by the countryside and by its own garden. A ten minute walk, will take you to town, where you can visit the Benedictine Abbey dating back to the year 1000 A.D. and see many old churches in the historical part of the town. Apart from Montescaglioso, particularly recommended is Matera and the beaches of Metaponto on the Ionian Coast (a 20 min. drive from my town) where you can see relics dating back to four or five centuries B.C. when Metaponto was an ancient Greek Colony. It's a great location where you can learn about the real Italy!!!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I live on the outskirts of my town and there is lots of space for parking ...

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day..5 days per week

My daughter, Aimee, our Australian workawayer and some students at my daughter's school
My daughter's English School
A typical narrow street which leads you to the historical centre of my town.
Another arch located in the historical centre of the town.
A long and winding road which takes you to the wine cantinas located along the side of the hill.
Steps leading down to the wine cantinas.
One of the many arches, beyond which you can see a view of the beautiful landscape which surrounds Montescaglioso.
A view of the town perched on top of the hill and the wine cantinas along the side of the hill.
patio under the porch outside the tavernetta and ovelooking the front garden..
freshly picked tomatoes ready to be put in jars for the winter...both my husband and I believe in home made preserves..
figs freshly picked from the tree and cut open to dry in the sun...
red peppers drying in the preserve for the winter
Another glimpse of the garden
Pasquale and Maria Carmela: the hosts.
The tavernetta

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 835255364465