Help at a family farm on the Big Island of Hawaii, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

578 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    About the Farm

    !! We are a farm located on the Big Island of Hawaii that has successfully hosted helpers since 2010 (previously through another website). Our area, located in the uplands of Puna, has not experienced a lava flow for 800 years, so staying here is very safe. We are a couple named Linda and Osh and we welcome workawayers who speak Spanish, Japanese, or Thai (Linda speaks Spanish and Osh speaks Japanese and Thai). Occasionally our grown-up daughter lives here too.

    This is an environmentally aware farm which grows crops using organic methods such as composting, mulching, and cover cropping. We raise tropical hardwood trees, fruit trees, vegetables and herbs on 20 acres. We also have a menagerie of sheep, cattle donkey, and dogs and cats. During your 20 volunteer hours, you will learn all the techniques needed to grow your own food sustainably. Over and above 20 volunteer hours a week, we offer payment for specific tasks like weed-whacking and seasonal fruit harvesting, but these opportunities are limited. Unfortunately, we do not generate enough money from farm activities to support us financially and Osh is retired.

    Our farm is located just 30 minutes by bus from the town and beaches of Hilo and 30 minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park on the east side of the Island of Hawaii. We supply an abundance of vegetables and seasonal fruits from the farm. We also supply some staple foods like rice, bread, pasta, peanut butter, oil, salt, and sugar, which we buy in bulk so it is cheaper than if you bought it. We supply farm-fresh eggs.

    We encourage musicians, artists, yogis, adventurers, and those who love to meditate to apply here! As avid travelers ourselves, we love to learn about different cultures. We spend our free time swimming at the beach and hiking on some beautiful trails and of course you are invited to come with us! Come share your world with us! If interested, please message us.

    When you contact us, please include a biography about yourself and what you would like to gain from your experience here. Alternatively, include a link to your Workaway profile. Mahalo!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about tropical farming and gardening and what it is like to live on the beautiful island of Hawaii! We love learning new languages and about your culture. Osh can teach you ukulele and/or guitar. Opportunities to learn gardening and farming techniques such as air layering, grafting, integrated pest management, green manures, companion planting, etc. if you are interested (Linda has a Master's Degree in Horticulture)

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Planting, harvesting, weeding, mulching, watering, greenhouse maintenance, compost building, minor fence repair, animal care with our cows, sheep, donkey, horses, and chickens,

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Japonés: Intermedio
    Thai: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a comfortable apartment with private bathroom in our barn that is big enough for three people. It has a cookstove and fridge so you can prepare your own meals. It has a private entrance and is off the grid.

    You can harvest your own vegetables and fruits (papaya, banana, seasonal lychee, pineapple, orange, tangerine, etc.), fresh from the farm. We also provide some staples like rice, pasta, bread, peanut butter, oil, salt, and sugar, which we buy in bulk.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Visiting the beach (30 minutes away), waterfalls, and the easy-going university town of Hilo. Visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park for hikes that appeal to all abilities. Ecstatic Dance on the weekend in Hilo or Puna. Visiting other breath-taking areas of the island, such as in Kona or Kohala, for the weekend. Bus stop is less than 10 minutes away by bike or 25 minutes away by walking.



    A handout on Workawayer rules that help us cooperate harmoniously will be provided if you are coming to our farm.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 828368218488