Help with horses and explore Rundale, Latvia

Country

Letonia

205 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, my name is Laima and I am guardian of this sacred corner of the world and guardians of a herd of horses.

    I am called to share all that I have discovered and learnt over the years with you, so you too can feel the connection with the spirit of the horse and maybe be inspired to create your own safe-haven.

    It is our divine right to create heavenly reality here on Earth, a sanctuary where innocence can flourish. It is my overarching goal to reconcile human relationship with all nature and all beings.

    Only when all the basic needs of the horses are met (water, food, social interactions, freedom of movement and shelter) we can begin to talk about interacting with horses in an authentic way. When we realize the need for the horse to become a willing participant in a relationship we can begin the path towards true partnership. Ask yourself- not what the horse may do for you, but what can we offer to the horse? How to facilitate, encourage, support and inspire the horse to become hero in his/her own story.

    I offer you to experience life in the countryside, help with handling and caretaking of horses, help with garden chores, cooking or even landscape art projects.

    The horses are mainly self-sufficient with large pastures, water and free-entry shelters available 24/7, but there are still plenty of things to help around. I invite you to open your eyes to different way of being with these magnificent beings NOT just riding and using them for our own purposes.

    Help in the garden or renovation/construction also possible- let me know your skill-set and we can discuss the options of your involvement.

    We take volunteers on calendar MONTHLY basis (1-30 date), 1 person or a couple at a time. Please don't apply for weekly terms or random terms. We receive many applications, priority given to those who are able to fit within this guideline, as organising gets difficult otherwise.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Students learn through training sessions, and by handling the horses in the general day-to day routines. All our horses are safe and well socialised already, joy to be around and eager to participate in human interactions.

    Horses are trained with choice, voice, positive reinforcement and relaxation as the main priority.

    You may observe and ask questions during/after my training sessions with the herd. The type and amount of lessons will be dependent on what is necessary at the moment. Some of the topics/methods that may be covered:

    - agility training

    - Methods for relaxation and groundwork

    - Liberty training

    - some Manual therapy methods for horses

    - yoga, breathing techniques and some Qigong


    I CANNO'T teach you:

    - Riding (please note this is NOT a riding stable and I don't offer any riding lessons at all)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As we receive very different applications we have developed 2 different options. Your choice will be depending on your existent skills and your wishes for your experience.

    1. “Volunteer” – you are looking for a quiet, rural space to stay, a change of scenery and ready to do simple (sometimes heavy) manual work to cover your accommodation and food expenses.

    2. “Student of the horse” – you are already experienced with horses or would like to learn about them, you are looking for an affordable way to do this and are happy to do simple (sometimes heavy) manual work to cover your accommodation and lessons with the herd.


    *You must be fit and confident to work with your hands and able to lift medium weights, basic knowledge of gardening and ability to do manual work is absolutely necessary.




    In general both volunteers and students help with the usual day-to-day chores in this little horse paddock-paradise such as poo-picking from the free entry stable and arena, grooming, hoof care, taking horses for a walk or cycle around the area, fence maintenance and such.

    We have a family orchard with apples, pears, cherry, plums (just for family consumption, not selling) and a very small vegetable garden and greenhouse. We are hoping to expand this so any help much appreciated.

    Chores may involve trimming grass, pruning trees, weeding the garden, mulching and such :) (Garden work mostly April - October).

    We are developing the garden and landscape around the farm so possibility for art projects and landscape projects such as making nice fireplace, outdoor oven, tea corner etc etc. Creative visions very welcome :)

    Please note! I do not teach pottery as part of the Workaway experience. I have several long term and short term teaching programs described in my website in great detail.





    CHORES
    You may be asked to do some or all of these various random tasks:
    - filling hay (up to 1h per day)
    - cleaning the stable (1-2h per day, but depends if the horses are using the stable at that day)
    - garden work (weeding, mulching, watering, pruning trees, mowing the lawn, using hand-held trimmer to cut the grass along the fences and other areas)
    - fence maintenance
    - sweeping/weeding/shoveling snow from the pavement in front of the house
    - unloading wood pellets (18kg) for heating the house
    - brushing/grooming the horses
    - collecting berries/ herbs etc
    - anything else around the farm/garden
    - walking with the horses for up to 15km
    - cycling with the horses for up to 15km

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluido
    Ruso: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We provide shared semi-private loft in newly renovated 140 building next to my pottery studio. Loft is a large open space that can be shared amongst up to 4 people (mainly I use this for hosting students and apprentices for my pottery studio on irregular basis). There is kitchen for making your own meals, shower and sauna in the adjoining building next to the loft.

    The whole property is large and consists of 150yo brick 2 story house, 500m2, where we live and host artists in residence and my pottery studio and adjoining loft and sauna house with communal kitchen and bathroom. We use loft by the pottery studio for hosting my pottery apprentices, Workaway volunteers and other visitors.

    Adjoining this is my parents large industrial agricultural farm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Place is rural so your own transport is very handy, otherwise I can take you to the closest town Bauska to the farmers market/shop once a week. There is plenty of produce from the garden in the summer months too.

    There is public transport bus stop 2.8km from the farm with good further connections throughout the country.

    You have your own kitchen, where you make your own breakfast and dinner.

    For lunch we have made 2 options available:

    1) The volunteers and students prepare their own meals. There is kitchen available for making your own meals.

    2) We take turns making lunch together, this option only if we have the same food preferences (we eat mostly vegan and gluten free).

    Once a week (usually Fridays) we have community lunch together with the team here, where we take turns preparing the food.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    free wifi

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have 5 cats and female dog around with me most of the time. If your dog is friendly and well socialised it might be possible to bring them along. However please keep in mind the accommodation in the loft is shared with 2-3 other people.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 825269531382