Join us at our Off-grid home 40 minutes north of Kingston in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

44 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    488

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of 6 (plus dog) looking for some help on a variety of projects and general help around the house.
    We have recently built our off-grid house on a clifftop in the rural and beautiful setting of South Frontenac. The property is located about 40 minutes north of Kingston, 2 1/2 hours from Toronto, 3 hours from Montreal and 7 hours from New York City. Nestled in the beautiful “land of lakes” region of Ontario, travellers would have access to a plethora of lakes and outdoor adventure activities such as canoeing, hiking, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, cycling and camping.
    Tristan is an artist and designer and owns a carpentry and building business. He works from a studio in downtown Kingston and is in the process of building a new off-grid studio on the property. Lia owns a family run restaurant and catering business in the nearby village of Sydenham, as well as a family run organic farm located a short walk away from the property. We recently had our twin boys and both our tasks around our house and property AND our response rate has taken a hit.

    Our house is a work in progress with many ongoing/upcoming projects to complete., and we are finding ourselves so busy that our house projects are getting left behind. We are looking for help on some general housekeeping, building projects, landscaping and general maintenance on and around our property. We are flexible with schedules and are open to individuals' interests and strengths.
    Our place is spacious and welcoming with some amazing views. We have private bedrooms for travellers, as well as over 300 acres for camping and exploring.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There are tons of opportunities for learning in different areas including off-grid living and sustainability, renovations and landscaping. We have a diverse community of friends and family, and travellers will be welcomed and included (if they wish!) in any gatherings etc.

    Kingston and the surrounding area has a rich history and a vibrant downtown full of restaurants, live music, festivals and other things to do. Whenever possible we will provide opportunities for travellers to experience this as well.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a multitude of upcoming and ongoing projects that we could really use help with! Genera housework and cleaning, work on the house and property, renovating an Airstream trailer, cooking family meals.

    We are open to all skill levels and ideas.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private bedroom on the main floor of our house. Shared main floor bathroom. Access to kitchen, washing machine etc. There is also over 300 acres of land suitable for camping (tent, and screened-in dining tent provided) if preferred.
    3 meals per day will be provided, and the cupboards are always open to help yourself if you're hungry! We often have family meals, where Workawayers will always be welcomed (though not obligated).
    We are also open to cooking being part of the day's work if so inclined.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This is a rural setting and travellers staying here should be prepared as such. There are often rides to and from the city of Kingston but individuals staying with us would be best suited if looking to spend time in nature and the country. We would be looking for approximately 5 hours per day/5 days per week of work, but we would be open to schedule accommodation and flexibility.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 823177119164