Come spend time with me and help with building projects on a former village bar in La Tardière, France

Country

Francia

15 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    193

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there!

    This Workaway is an awesome idea! I’m a very sociable person, and love the chance to meet new people, everyone has something to bring to the table, with ideas, energy and culture...

    I'm 65, bought this former village bar (c 180 sq m) 2 years ago, came here alone, had a very rocky renovation journey which has left me very short of funds but determined to finish! Heart problems (both romantic and health!) have left me struggling to cope alone, though since my original posting, I’ve painted the house facade, and the yard, including small outbuildings

    The house is now a tiny, boho chambres d'hôte (b and b). Most of the interior is now done....one room has been available to let since end of May 2018...I’d like to get another room ready too. This will involve decorating, making curtains, and moving furniture around in the house to suit needs.

    As I also paint/refurbish old furniture, the living room doubles as a workshop, so can be a bit messy at times. My work schedule is very irregular, so each day is different.

    It would be brilliant to get some help for 3 projects:-

    -1 To create a garden behind my barn, currently simply grass and a bit of rubble from old outbuildings; needs fencing too, as cheaply as possible. My heart problem means grass cutting is a challenge, so ideas welcome for how the grassed area could be reduced....

    - 2 To replace the very deteriorated barn roof (barn is c 8m x 5) with corrugated material; and introduce light via corrugated plastic panels;
    the exterior blockwork walls need to be covered with crépi, or painted...I could use help clearing/ordering the barn contents too.

    -3 Preparing a 2nd bedroom for letting to bed and breakfast guests...hoping to complete by end May latest, so as to catch most of this season.

    The property is a manageable size (3 beds) and has a fabulous funky feel to it. The courtyard is a south-facing suntrap; and while the street view is not too inspiring (facing a school), the garden has a wonderful rural feel to it, with a view over the park of a nearby small chateau.

    There are nice bars in Vouvant, and by the lake in Mervent....wonderful for an evening drink. The forest there....hundreds of hectares...is stunning, great for walking, cycling, rowing, swimming, pedaloes, fishing... In summer there are various live music events; art exhibitions in Vouvant; and the coast isn’t far, great for a day out...

    I’m happy to help volunteers with learning either French or English. There are yoga and tai chi classes locally, which I can take you to if interested. My spirituality is important, so
    I meditate daily...welcome to join me :-)...also exercise my dogs daily, welcome to join me, I walk 3-5 miles daily with them.

    There are 2 young dogs here, very affectionate and friendly, but boisterous!

    The temperature here has suddenly rocketed, 26 today! So, come and catch a tan!

    Happy to discuss further via email/Facebook Messenger/skype.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Vendée Velo route passes the door, so great for cyclists;
    Vendée coast, good surfing beaches, and La Rochelle are 1 hour away;
    Vouvant, medieval artists' village, 10 minutes away by car;
    Vouvant-Mervent forest, beautiful area with kayaking/hiking/mountain biking, 20 minutes away.
    Le Puy du Fou....France's biggest "theme" park, offering exceptional historical re-enactments, bird of prey display, model towns of yesteryear, c 40 minutes away (worth a visit);
    Marais Poitevin c 30 minutes away (waterways, wild fowl);
    Ripaud, largest garden centre in Europe, c 2 miles away

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    4 projects:-
    - Replacing roof on small barn with corrugated material;
    - Creating a garden from the c100m strip behind my barn (a designer has already made a scheme), includes making a path and beds;
    - Fencing the length of the garden (both sides)
    - Getting a 2nd room ready to let

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Double room with shared bathroom. Plenty of storage for clothes/personal effects.

    Use of shared large living room (former village bar), with board games, cards, dvd's, British tv, music.....this is also my painting studio, so a bit messy ;-)

    I will provide choice of breakfast, lunch and evening meal, menu negotiable (I tend towards organic, local produce, and not much meat); happy to cater for special dietary requirements, inc vegetarian/vegan/dairy and/or gluten-free. I love to cook, but new ideas would be very welcome

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Probably covered most of this earlier.

    In time off, if you have transport, attractions as previously mentioned; towns of Fontenay le Comte (30 mins drive); Bressuire (30 mins); Niort with medieval donjon 40 minutes. Buses run from La Chataigneraie, 1 km away, to Nantes, Niort and La Rochelle

    Loire valley chateaux, 1.5 hours to Angers, Saumur (with vineyard tours);
    Paris is c 4 hours' drive, Bordeaux c 3 hours (highly recommended!), with St Emilion wine producing area

    If you want to connect with other Brits, Vouvant has a british-owned cafe. Fontenay le Comte has several good restos, and bars...

    Why not give it a try?
    Hope to see you!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 797438852156