Fun family home help in stunning setting of the awesome Slocan Valley BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

55 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a hard working, fun loving, organized family with a wide range of projects on the go. Steve is an avid outdoorsman, passionate about skiing, mountain biking and anything on the water. A lifelong entrepreneur, he is currently working as an Entrepreneur In Residence for a local Tech association. I, Simone, am a metal/ice artist, herbal practitioner, gardener, baker and animal person. Simone's father Carl lives on the same land, is a wonderful metal artist and resource of knowledge.

    We have traveled extensively, the longest period being 2 winters in Panama working at a remote island surf camp, a few months in Portugal and most recently WWOOFing in Hawaii (with kids) for 3 months. We love adventures, connecting with people from all over the world and learning about other cultures.
    Our boys are Arlo aged 3, and Drinnon aged 5 1/2. They are great kids, full of energy and adventurous and are used to being around other people. They are both easy going, adaptable and happy.

    We live in a stunning post and beam Strawbale house, built by Simone's family. Our property us 15 acres, 2 of them being flat creating a lovely yard/garden area in front of the house. The property backs onto crown land and our backroad leads into the Valhalla Mountain Range.

    We have a very sweet Kangal Shepherd dog, a lovely Arabian horse, house cat , 7 laying hens and a miniature jersey milk cow and her calf! This Spring/summer we have seasonal animals such as 2 pigs and 60 meat chickens.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to share knowledge in baking pastries and sourdough bread, making fermented foods and seasonally preserving foods (late summer/fall). I will also gladly share my knowledge of herbal medicine and animal care. Steve is able to work with others on building projects and share his various building skills and talk business.

    We enjoy hosting dinner parties with friends, and taking in other local cultural events as covid allows. We would welcome you to join in these social activities.

    If you want to come:
    -please come with a positive attitude and willingness to learn
    -we are a family, so you need to be ok with young kids
    -no drama please, we love healthy energy but lets keep it positive!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have settling back onto family land and had a busy summer 2020 reestablishing gardens and building infrastructure to work towards self sufficiency. Steve will be working standard but still flexible business hours from home and I will be home with the kids and working on projects indoor and out.

    Our spring/summer projects include:
    -small building projects and a larger one- rebuilding the housing on a steel hulled houseboat
    -fencing
    -gardening
    -childcare
    -some animal care (a miniature milk cow and calf, 2 pigs, laying hens, horses)

    Gardening this year will be focused on:
    -fresh veggies for us all to eat
    -reworking new garden beds
    -mulching, weeding, watering
    -planting an orchard with about 12 berry bushes, 8 fruit trees and 100 raspberry canes
-building beds for and planting 150 strawberry plants
    -planting 100 asparagus plants
-planting green manure crops and planning crop rotation

    Building projects include:

    -houseboat rebuild, including the house itself, plus electrical, plumbing, metal work, mechanical work
    -pump house for the new well with outdoor shower attache
    -lots of cutting/stacking firewood, moving sprinklers around, and general maintenance.
    -Childcare for those who express interest
    **We very much welcome couples, with one person keen on childcare, and one keen on other projects.

    We will have some expectation for help around meals to the best of your abilities, if not food prep/cooking then clean up for the meals that we share. Shared meals will be a gathering place for daily conversation over good home prepared meals. Our diet is quite varied and non specific to any styles, you can expect good home cooking with veggies, meats, plenty of baked goods, and excellent coffee and tea :) .

    If you are reading this with an interest in childcare, we are looking for someone to playfully engage the kids for part of the day so that I can work kid free. I would always be nearby to help, and our days can be flexible as to when/how things are accomplished. Kid tasks are simply keeping them out of trouble, making/feeding them snacks, reading, playing, crafting, they are pretty easy going so many options to keep them busy. Arlo, the 3 yr old is fully bathroom trained so no diapers duties. They love to be outdoors checking out what we are doing!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer a well set up 26ft travel trailer for accommodations, plus use of the main house. The trailer is perfect for a couple, a pair of good friends or a single person. It has a double bed, 2 bunk beds, fully functioning kitchen and nearby bathroom accommodations. The location is in a pleasant wooded area near the main house but offers a place to have your own space as you wish. There may be room in the house available at times as well, though the trailer offers a pleasant escape and will likely suit most people. Wifi reaches the trailer.
    Most meals will take place in the main house’s courtyard. For breakfast you are on your own in the travel trailer (ingredients provided by us, including homemade granola, yogurt, fruits, fresh bread, jams, eggs, cheese, coffee, tea etc) but join the family for lunches and about half the weeks dinners. The other dinners we provide food to be enjoyed in our respective areas in order for us to catch up on valued family time.

    Contributing time in the kitchen is encouraged around shared meals, we love good tunes and social cooking together. My father Carl often joins for meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many things to do in your time off, we are at the base of the Valhalla Mountains, so hiking, biking, camping, and climbing, and on the surrounding lakes and rivers many water activities (swimming, paddleboarding, cycling the rail trail). The river is 5 min drive from the house, and if you are brave there is a creek a few minutes walk from the house for a cold plunge. Nelson is our closest town, 35 min drive and is an great place to explore with many markets and beach side activities. There is a bus service that runs 4 times a day to and from Nelson, and up to the town Slocan (further beaches, hikes and cultural activities). The bus stop is a 20 min bike ride from the house. Having your own transportation is the ideal here, the Slocan Valley has a lot of good activities to take part in and having your own vehicle creates more opportunities! We will gladly offer rides when we are doing activities together, and you will be welcome to join us for dinner parties, trips to see family on Kootenay lake, floating Slocan River, going to town, but on your off time it will be mostly up to you to find your way around.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have great internet that reaches the travel trailer and around the property.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of options for parking vehicles

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 792343591424