Help us at our family guest house in Karakorum, the ancient capital of Mongolia

Country

Mongolia

222 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a Polish-Mongolian couple based in Karakorum, the ancient capital of Mongolia placed in the heart of the country, around 360 km from Ulan Bator. My name is Agata and I come from Poland. I came to Mongolia as a researcher and found my home here. Tamir Samandbadraa - my husband, who is a well known Mongolian artist calligrapher and I live in an old house which we are turning into a guest house. The house has four rooms, restaurant, little library and calligraphy studio. There are also couple of yourts in the backyard. There is a lot of place outside that can be turned into garden or recreational space.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can
    - learn about Mongolian culture and life in the Mongolian countryside
    - visit the historical capital and one of the most important Buddhist centres of the country
    - learn calligraphy or painting techniques (Mongolian calligraphy from Tamir and Tibetan calligraphy from Agata, oil painting etc.)
    - try Mongolian cuisine, the traditional food and horse milk drink, all natural and fresh from Mongolian countryside
    - we can help you arrange a horse trip or give you other advice on travelling in Mongolia
    - and many others

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is a lot of work of all kinds that you can help us with. We need help with any of the following:
    - small renovation works in the house
    - plumbery etc.
    - arranging space in the backyard
    - gardening
    - decoration of the building from the inside and outside
    - social media promotion, website
    - taking good photos of our place
    - cooking
    - preparing beds and cleaning rooms for the guests of our guest house
    - all kinds of house work like cleaning the rooms, washing things in the washing mashine, washing the dishes etc.
    - feeding our dog
    - playing with our son
    - any other type of work you can do!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Mongolian: Fluido
    Polaco: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You can stay in one of the rooms or in the yourt depending on availability and your preference. We can accomodate a family or a single person. We can provide food (breakfast and lunch or dinner) but sometimes we will involve you in meal preparation! It is possible to arrange vegetarian or vegan food options (ingredients). For meet eaters there is no better place than Mongolia as Mongolian diet consists mostly of meat and milk products.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our place is located just next to the local bus station and market place. It is a 15 minutes walk from the biggest attraction of Karakorum - the Erdene Zuu monastery, archeological museum, Mongolian calligraphy and art center L'Ecrin - Erdenesiin Khuree, and only 3 km from the beautiful Orkhon river valley. There is a lot of things to discover around. We have 2 bicycles which you can use or we can give you a drive around in our car to the places you want to visit. Our friends organize horse trips in the area so we can help you arrange a horse trip or give you other travel advice that you wish.

    FAQ:
    1. How to get to Kharkhorin from UB?
    The best way is to take a bus from the Dragon bus station in UB. It leaves every day at 11 am but be prepared to get there earlier to get the ticket. It costs around 25 000 tugriks per person (6 euro). It takes about 6 hours to get to Kharkhorin.

    2. What should I bring to Mongolia?
    First of all, take some warm clothes. A sleeping bag can be useful too. Most days are sunny so a hat to protect your head and UV cream will be a good idea. Some pocket knife etc, some camping accessories might be useful depending on your plans of traveling. When you visit Mongolian families you should always bring some gift with you so something small from your home country might be nice to gift to people. The climate is very dry so you might need some hand cream etc. depending on your skin condition. If you plan to go to the countryside or do horse riding some hight shoes are recommended.

    3. What other things should a foreign know when coming to Mongolia?

    Basically, be prepared for the unknown;) it is good to be flexible and adapt to the situation rather than plan everything precisely in advance because "the Mongol is the way the Sky is". (The exception is when you book a travel with the tour companies - it's better to do it in advance)

    Beware of the dogs, don't pet them, they can be very dangerous because their job is to protect home from strangers.

    Keep your valuable things and money in a safe place, don't leave them visible because they will get stolen. Don't show your wallet full of money in public places. Keep your things organized. What is on the table belongs to everyone.

    Research what you want to see and experience in Mongolia and enjoy your time safely!!!

    Rules of the house:
    1. Be kind and respect each other (of course!)
    2. Clean after yourself NOW (not after... Or tomorrow...)
    3. Keep common spaces tidy
    4. Give equally as you take
    5. No smoking inside (you can smoke outside but don't trash)
    6. If the door was closed, when you enter/leave, close it back
    7. If you go somewhere alone, it is better to tell someone where you are going (safely)
    8. Feed the dog only in the dog's bowl and don't let him enter the house (Mongolian rules)
    9. Don't put dangerous or breakable things on the level of the toddler (there is a child in the house)
    10. Don't leave things outside unattended (the wind or dog or someone will take them)
    11. If you want to help and don't know how, check if: there are dishes to wash, trash to collect, floor to clean, kitchen to clean, food to prepare, give water to the dog, etc
    12. If you don't know something, ask!

    Make sure that you accept and follow the rules. If you have more questions feel free to ask.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have WiFi, 2G (best possible in the countryside)

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 785536643527