Indoor and outdoor volunteering experience on our permaculture farm in Northern California, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

913 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    91  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Welcome. We are in Northern California, about 50 miles North of San Francisco on almost two acres which we are slowly developing using permaculture techniques. We are mainly a husband and wife team, while there are several other people that live on the property with us and we assist each other as needed. We have chickens, 3 dogs, a vegetable garden and an orchard. Our bees are now thriving, although we still have a lot to learn! We are continuing to plant for bees/pollinators and exploring how to manage beehives on our property. We also have started a grazing collective with our neighbors to reduce fire risk. We currently manage 11 sheep and 3 goats.

    Helpers can participate in many areas, inside or outside. If you like animals, working in the garden, and organising then this might just be a little haven for you. We have multiple projects in the works which we would love help with. Please read below to see if you are the right fit.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have travelled and/or lived in Zimbabwe, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, England, Ireland, France, Switzerland, Italy, Thailand and Russia. We enjoy sharing our stories, life experiences and philosophies while hearing others travel stories, life experiences and philosophies. We also love learning about other cultures, learning some words/phrases of another language, discussing ideas and showing off Sonoma County, local permaculture spots, San Francisco, the local breweries and wineries. We have life experience in the healthcare industry as Medical providers and support staff with an emphasis on Family Medicine and Midwifery.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    OUTDOORS:
    chicken house cleaning; pruning; weeding; watering; sheet mulching; painting (finishing up remodel of one end of house); clearing outside area of piled up items; dog walking

    We appreciate those interested in sustainability e.g. permaculture wise or forward thinking in that direction. If you are unfamiliar, please make use of Google search to find out if this interests you. Specialists in any of the above are anticipated as we have many ideas awaiting fruition. All helping hands are welcome.

    INDOORS:
    general upkeep: hoovering/vacuuming, bathroom cleaning, mopping, dusting; organisation (kitchen plans: to install pullout drawers, spice rack and other storage savvy things); cooking; light installation; woodwork (floor to ceiling bookcases in the den)

    We work at different times so needless to say, we are quite busy. Help to maintain a level of cleanliness and improve organisation is greatly appreciated. We also love socializing and interaction with all types of worldly people that have come to stay, so far. If you are someone who is open and willing to put in your time and effort, we would love to have you in our household.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Bedroom, sometimes caravan and occasionally tents

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Santa Rosa is 50 miles North of San Francisco in Sonoma County wine country -- home of Snoopy ("Peanuts" creator Charles Schultz) and horticulturalist Luther Burbank. We are happy to show you around Sonoma County and possibly take a day trip to San Francisco. There is plenty to do and see including bicycling, wine tasting, micro brewery tours, ice skating, hiking, roller skating, Petaluma Adobe, Luther Burbank Gardens, Snoopy Museum, redwood walks, visits to the ocean, local gigs, farmers markets and festivals.

    We enjoy the arts (music, theatre, film); campfires outside by the pool; fitness (swimming, cycling, hiking, yoga, meditation, running, tennis); socialisation (sightseeing, chatting, sharing stories). You are welcome to join in on anything we do.

    We have collectively lived and travelled around US, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Russia, Africa, South America, Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, and Malaysia with dreams to travel to India, Central America and Japan (to name just a few). We are also experienced hosts to many travellers. We think you will enjoy staying here and we will appreciate the help.

    'Acknowledging the good that is already in your life is the foundation for all abundance' -- Eckhart Tolle

    Here's to a new friendship!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good wifi connection that goes into the garden. While we do not have a seperate room for digital nomads to work in there are many quiet areas both inside and out to work in.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    It might be possible to host people with campervans/motorhomes depending on the size of the vehicle and the length of stay. We have off road parking and have accommodated campervans in the past.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Any pets need to get along with our pets/animals. We currently have 3 dogs and chickens.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)





























































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 784154847155