Learn to grow your own food, living with a family in the green Southern Highlands, Australia

Country

Australia

58 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/06/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a happy family of a well-travelled couple (a farmer and an artist) with two school aged children (11 and 13) two dogs and a menagerie of animals on a 100 acre farm in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW, two hours from both Sydney and Canberra and 40 minutes from the beaches of the south coast. We have a vegetable garden, chickens. pigs and sheep so we eat organic meat, eggs and veg when we can (seasonally) and love to bake bread and make jam etc. We have three lovely horses which we would like you to groom or ride if you have horse-riding experience. Mat is a farm manager for other farms nearby and I am an artist with a studio down the road. We had a nomadic life and backpacked for years but now live a simple life in a small cottage, we mostly work away from the farm during the day and the children do school every day *at home during lockdown and come together to share meals in the evening. Harriet teaches basketry and weaving classes and makes sculpture and lighting and Mat has a fencing business too.
    We love introducing our kids to people from all over the world and we have hosted many short and long-stay helpers over the last 10 years in our old lady "Chachi" the vintage caravan, many of whom we are still in contact with. In fact, our first helper still lives in the area!! This region has lots of bushwalks, rainforests and waterfalls so helpers with their own vehicle will be able to get the most out of being here. The voluntary help we need at the moment will be building and renovation, gardening cleaning and home maintenance. We are quite new to workaway but we can give you whatsapp details for previous helpers if you want a reference.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am a qualified English language teacher so I can help people from a non-english speaking background improve their language skills. We will teach them what we know about gardening, working with animals and living the country life. Also they will share our home cooked meals around the table in the evenings conversing with the children and become as one of the family members. When we can have social gatherings, parties we are happy to include our helpers and introduce them to our friends. We always try to accommodate people's cultural, religious or outdoor passions and provide as much information and direction to local adventures, shopping, churches or outings to make their time away from the farm satisfying. Previous helpers have said they have learned a lot about ways of living simply and closer to nature. If you are lucky enough to be with us at the right time, we can take you out on a camping trip to sleep in a swag in the bush which is our favourite way to get away on weekends. We have bicycles available for them to cycle into the village which has everything you would need - cafes, post office, chemist, butcher, supermarket, galleries, gift shops, pub. It is very quiet here and a good place to recharge and re-set before your travels.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Generally the daily help is household help, gardening, farmyard and home maintenance but we would really like to do some small renovation projects around the house like building a small deck and installing an outdoor shower with privacy screen so a helper with building experience would be ideal. We really like people who are able to do tasks independently and without too much supervision needed. Nature lovers are probably going to feel most comfortable out in the country.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Our son is learning Japanese and I speak elementary Spanish. I was a full-time English as a second language teacher for two years.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Helpers will have free accommodation and as much vegetable from the garden, herbs, free range eggs, homemad jam etc as they want. We will buy them enough tasty food for breakfasts and lunches from the supermarket but also they will share our home cooked meals around the table in the evenings conversing with the children and become as one of the family members.We have an old vintage caravan in the garden called "Chachi" which has a double bed, power and a basic kitchen. It is quite old, small and can be cold (CURRENTLY a wombat is building a home underneath!!) so we are happy for our helpers to spend time in the house with us by the fire! If workers have their own van, tent or camper they can also set that up in the garden near the caravan and use it as a living room. Your own toilet is provided but we share a main bathroom for showers (although one of the projects on our list is to build an outside shower cubicle!). We have wifi.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is so much amazing nature around these parts. We have numerous look-outs bushwalks, waterfalls, beaches close-by and even a dam on our property that has trout stocked in it for fishing. There are buses from town to Canberra and Sydney and we have bicycles for your use but having your own car would be best. If you absolutely need to have paid work, we can help you with suggestions of how to get work nearby or possibly organise paid farm work outside of your workaway hours. Although we are open-minded and tolerant, we would prefer non-smokers, our workers must keep the caravan clean and personal hygiene is very important. It is not possible for us to cater to vegan diets as we mostly cook meat with every meal and we keep animals for meat. Driver's licence essential.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 - 5 hours a day / 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 779735271819