Looking for a couple for long-term help with our olive harvest and general ground and property maintenance in West Crete, Greece

Country

Grecia

196 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    214

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update- please don’t contact us asking for dates before November.

    We are Sean (Anglo-Irish) and Helen (Welsh), a couple who moved to Crete from the UK in 2005. We built our home and set up our agro-tourism business providing self catering accommodation in our two self-catering apartments.

    Our place is on the doorstep of Western Crete, only 30 minutes from the Venetian town of Chania, in the small working village of Xamoudochori.

    Set in an olive grove on the edge of the village, we have much work out of season in the Winter months harvesting our olives, gardening, painting and various projects we have to complete before the next tourist season begins.

    We are looking for a fit, strong couple to help us over a long-term period of 1-2 months this Autumn/Winter.

    The work is very physically demanding and anybody interested should be prepared for this. For example, the olive sacks, when filled, weigh 40-50 kilos and we are expecting a big harvest this year with possibly 30 sacks to fill and transport.

    Accommodation will be provided in one of our two beautiful apartments, private and fully equipped for self catering with 2 balconies, wifi and heating.
    Some house, pet and chicken sitting may be required, hence why this is an accommodation only offer as it's long-term and includes all utilities.

    All safety equipment is provided and all help is supervised by us.

    Before we decide, we would like to talk and give full details via a video call, also giving you the opportunity to ask us any questions you may have.

    Thanks

    Helen & Sean

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Crete is a very special island and the hospitality of the people is world famous. Travellers lucky enough to visit and stay out of season in a working village like ours , with people like us who have integrated into the village, will experience the island's magical landscapes, it's delicious clean food, it's hospitality and a way of life long forgotten in many western societies.

    The most important lesson will be how the local Cretan people value health and family above anything else and the simplicity of life here in the village.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Olive harvest.
    Painting the property, paths and steps surrounding the property.
    General maintenance around the property.
    Gardening, pruning, clearing.

    We will require a Skype/Facetime meeting with the applicant before we commit, to ensure that we are all in agreement with the details and that we are compatible.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Welsh: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Greek: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a fully equipped private, self - catering apartment it has a bedroom with two large single beds and mattresses from England, a bathroom with toilet, shower and wash basin, a small kitchen with cooker, fridge, kettle, microwave , pots and pans , dishes , cutlery etc a dinning area with table and chairs, two balconies all furnished as it would be for our paying guests in the Summer season.

    Our apartments have 95 x 5 star reviews online. The accommodation is of a very high standard and we expect it to be treated with respect. There is also wi-fi and heating.

    The volunteers can make their own meals in their kitchen in the apartment.
    We can provide free range eggs and our very own extra virgin olive oil, plus any vegetables from the garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our village is 3 kms from the bus stop in Maleme where buses run regularly every day . We will provide transport to and from the bus stop during the day and a reliable taxi number for evenings out. Chania is 30 minutes by bus. Volunteers can explore the local area by foot, we will advise them on many walks and places to visit once here.

    We will happily advise or organise day trips in accordance with what the volunteers interests are. The beaches in Crete are beautiful on warm sunny Winter days and no tourists and the mountains are spectacular, offering many choices to suite all tastes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 778434956232