Help with outdoor painting projects at my home in the Boise National Forest in southern Idaho, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

131 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Coronavirus update: Volunteers must answer a few questions regarding covid-19 and your general health (nothing specific or intrusive apart from covid-19). There is plenty of remote hiking and exploring in and around Idaho City. I will ask my volunteers to use the same safety precautions until spread of the virus is contained or a vaccine is available, which will include wearing a mask that you bring with you. I would also prefer volunteers who can drive here, rather than fly.

    Right now what I could really use help with is a few exterior carpentry projects and some general construction cleanup. You don't need a lot of carpentry experience but it would be nice if you knew your way around a toolbox.

    I live in Idaho City, a small historic mining town in the Boise National Forest in southern Idaho (34 miles north of Boise). If you love mountains, pine trees, streams, wildlife, rockhounding, and the serenity of nature then this is where you want to be! I moved here from Minnesota in September '18 after my only child went away to college, and have been renovating the place ever since. My primary need is for folks with carpentry/renovation skills. Generally I am looking for volunteers to stay 1-3 weeks, but a longer stay is definitely possible for someone with the right skill-set. I have a 50-pound huskypoo named Hagrid (born July 2019). He is sweet, loving and rambunctious, so volunteers should be dog lovers.

    A little about me: Since high school I have worked as a technology teacher, art teacher, nanny, administrative assistant, and I also ran a bed and breakfast for several years. I would describe myself as an extroverted nerd who is also creative, friendly, and optimistic. I'm about to turn 58 and although that seems pretty old when I write it out here, I feel young on the inside and relate well to people of all ages. It could be due to my unsinkable sense of humor, or my puppy, who makes me smile throughout the day. I do have some issues with my arms, knees and back, which is why having a helper is such a blessing!

    Volunteers from everywhere are welcome subject to current travel restrictions, and I’d be happy to show you our little bit of Idaho paradise!

    If mountain living sounds appealing, please reach out. Be well!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Mountain life is peaceful and gorgeous and it is easy to maintain social distancing while enjoying the outdoors. If you love mountains and pine trees, hiking, rock-hunting, mountain biking, fishing, snowshoeing and x-country skiing, etc., you will love Idaho City. It is a very small historic mining town (pop. approx. 450) 35 miles north of Boise, ID. My place is walking distance to the historic downtown, mountain trails, public library, ranger station, shops with antiques, collectibles, ice cream, groceries, and more! My huskypoo puppy (born July 2019) is a sweetie, and if you are a dog lover you're welcome to play with him and/or take him for walks. We live a block from a beautiful mountain trail that follows a clear, fast-moving stream which is pretty isolated, especially on weekdays. .

    Volunteers can visit area natural hot springs, walk from our house to hike or bicycle (you'd need your own bike), and visit the historic downtown that still looks like an old west mining town. There is a mining museum, a large old cemetery in the woods, a ranger station in town, plus shops, restaurants and a coffee shop, and ice cream parlor. In warmer months I love digging up beautiful quartz, granite, gem stones, etc., and I even have a pan you can take to the stream to pan for gold! Also, Boise is 35 miles south of us, and with a population of 226,000, it has anything you'd look for in a bigger city. A swimsuit and water shoes will be essential if you want to explore some of the natural hot springs located within an hour or so from town!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Current projects include:

    Indoor renovation projects: There are numerous indoor and outdoor renovation projects to help on which are mostly carpentry-related.

    Outdoor renovation projects: Install several 4x8 sheets of siding on a 1-story dwelling, help stop a couple of roof leaks (I'll be the one on the roof, just need help from below), help cleanup and dispose of construction waste from summer and fall projects, and several smaller, misc. projects

    I've got all necessary tools, but you should have your own work gloves and paint clothes.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Volunteers are provided with a private room (queen or full bed, smart tv, built-in usb ports, small dining table/chairs) and bathroom. There is wifi and a smart tv. Smoking is not allowed anywhere on the property. Groceries are provided (apart from special dietary requirements) and volunteers have use of a fully-equipped tiny shared kitchen. Sorry, no pets. I also ask volunteers to clean their room prior to leaving, leaving it in the same condition as they found it.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Note: T-Mobile is the only phone service that gets reception here, so if your phone is on a different network you'd need to plan to use a wifi-based app like WhatsApp to make phone calls. I've found that putting a phone in wifi calling mode takes up too much bandwidth, though you could use that if you only turn on wifi calling when you are making a call

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours with 2 days off

Hagrid loves fetching sticks in the stream, as long as the water isn't over his head!
Hagrid running along the trail during our hike.
Mountain stream that follows the trail near our house. Cool off on a summer day, or even pan for gold (I have pans)!
Me and Hagrid Feb '20
This is the trail we hike each day. It is at the end of our block and we love it!

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 777521643981