Help us with gardening and eco-projects in Milas, Turkey

Country

Turquía

26 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, my name is John and myself and my wife Asli (we have no children) live in the Bodrum Peninsular of Turkey. We moved here from Bali 3 years ago and bought a 3ha property about 50 minutes from Bodrum and 30 minutes from the sea with the intention of building a retreat centre with attached permaculture gardens and a food forest. So for the past 3 years we have been building our house, the retreat centre, a natural pool and sauna, the solar system and water works, as well as growing as much of our own food as we can, including harvesting our own olives from our 40 or so olive trees and making our own olive oil, and planting lots of trees around the property and for the food forest.

    The retreat centre side of things is nearing completion. There is now a yoga shala and 10 accommodation yurts with attached bathrooms that can accommodate up to 25 guests and a communal kitchen. It is in one of these yurts that the Workaway travelers will stay.

    However, we do need on-going help in the permaculture gardens and food forest.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I used to be an English language teacher/teacher trainer so this could be an opportunity for those wishing to practice and improve their English language skills (or join me in learning Turkish!). I have also been a permaculturalist for many years and I love exploring this topic as it applies to this property with others.
    We live on the edge a typical Turkish mediterranean village so this is a great opportunity for anyone wishing to experience a truly rural way of life.
    Turkey is full of ancient sites including the Bodrum peninsular so there is plenty of sight-seeing opportunities in the area.
    Bodrum is one of Turkey's premiere tourist destinations with a crusader castle, amphitheatre, large marina with many boats catering for day trips to secluded bays and a vibrant market and night life.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are two opportunities for travelers here. Firstly help with the gardens and food forest including weeding, site preparation, planting, setting up drip systems, watering and wood-chipping. So it is important travellers are happy to get their hands dirty and to work close to the ground.
    The second opportunity involves food preparation and cooking for the evening meal.
    There will also be opportunities to help out in whatever eco-projects or garden art projects (including making mandala gardens) that are on-going at the time of the travelers' visits.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Indonesian: Intermedio
    Turco: Principiante
    Chino (mandarín): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have been an English language teacher and teacher trainer for many years and so I am more than happy to offer language exchange.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The travelers will stay in one of the Turkish style yurts. There are yurts for single people or couples all with attached bathrooms. The travelers can either eat with us (we are both vegetarian but we don't eat dairy, and we both recently started eating fish again occasionally!) or if preferred they can cook their own meals in the communal kitchen or mix it up, sometimes eating with us or sometimes cooking their own meals.
    If the traveller has specifically come to prepare and cook our family meals then they will need to be aware of our dietary preferences.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As previously mentioned, this area of Turkey if full of interesting historical sites to visit as well as gorgeous beaches and seaside villages a short drive away. We do live in a remote area so if the traveller is keen on exploring the surroundings then having one's own transport is preferable. Public transport is available in the village but it is infrequent. There are lots of opportunities for hiking in the area, mountain biking, too, although as yet we do not have our own mountain bikes.
    We enjoy the quiet of rural life but having a yoga shala allows for impromptu music and dance.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good internet connection and will shortly purchase a booster so it can be accessed all over the property. If the traveller has a Turkcell sim card then additionally the internet can easily be accessed via their cellular data. Other sim cards don't work nearly so well.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is lots of flat space for workdays to park their camper van. Access to a yurt bathroom or the communal kitchen is still possible if needed.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets are acceptable but only if they are happy to live 100% outside.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 775828654545