Join an Italian family and discover Tuscany, Italy

  • Italia
  • 208 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 26 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más



  • Descripción


    Looking for an helper in Viareggio mid June to mid September:
    - sunny and proactive
    - very active and sporty
    - beach lover

    What: helping with kids, actually aged 11 and 9
    Why: for cultural exchange, for experiencing family life, for living as a local, visiting beautiful Tuscany, or whatever your imagination may suggest
    When: all year long
    How long for: we usually ask for a three months minimum staying (read below)
    Where: Tuscany, Italy. Mid September to mid June we live in Pisa. Mid June to mid September we move by the sea in Viareggio.

    - sunny, positive and proactive mood
    - long staying (>3 months)

    Pisa's basic requirements:
    - minimum age: 23 yo (due to car insurance policy statement)
    - driving license for at least 2 years: the helper will drive the family car. They will be asked to drive a stick-shift car on the right side of the road
    ...what else?
    - a personal project, a hobby or a remote job to apply for are usually totally compatible with the help we ask and are usually much appreciated. We have a WiFi connection.

    Viareggio's basic requirements:
    - riding the bike (driving license is NOT mandatory as we stay in Viareggio)
    - loving beach life
    - being active and sporty

    - why long-staying volunteers? As a project that involves children, we try to search the maximum stability at home, avoiding a constant turnover of people. Kids are used to living with people who come and then go, but we try to limit that! Moreover, for every new person we host, I have to explain our daily routine again, so it's a little stressful for me as well! ;-P That's why we ask people who come to our place to stay for "long".
    - we can't host extraEU people asking for the "residenza" for their Italian Citizenship process. We'll be happy to host you as soon as you already got your Citizenship.

    We're a family of 4: mum, dad, and two kids. Mum and dad are 44 and 45 years old and work as doctors at local hospital. Pietro and Marta are our lively kids aged 11 and 9. We're a very active, sporty and open-minded family and want to join the workaway experience once again, as we do since 2017.

    While the school year (mid September to mid June), we live in Pisa, a university town. Pisa is about 20 km far from Lucca and about 90 km far from Florence.
    While the summer (mid June to mid September), we move to Viareggio, a town by the sea. Viareggio is about 20 km far from Lucca and about 100 km far from Florence.

    Depending on the time of the year, our main hobbies are:
    - playing sports: we like any kind of sports. Pietro plays table tennis and practiced jujitsu for 5 years; Marta plays ballet (classical and modern ones).
    - cooking: we like to cook our food (bread, pizza, ice cream, pasta and whatever comes to our mind!). We'd like to show and teach our hosts some typical Italian dishes and share food culture.
    - playing guitar: Pietro started playing the guitar at school on October 2022, so he's still a beginner, but he's very committed to it

    Our hosting experience began in summer 2017 and we hosted many different persons until today (some of them we hosted twice!)... we hosted girls and guys, from 18 to 52 yo! All the experiences we had until now were positive, so I can strongly affirm we tried cultural exchange and liked it a lot! :-) we like to share our house with people from different countries.

    We're always looking for friends to share next months with... if you are wondering about an experience in Tuscany, don't hesitate to contact us... we're looking forward to the next hosting experience!!!

    Contact me and let's talk!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You may spend some time in Pisa or Viareggio and visit beautiful Tuscany.
    You can learn/practice some Italian language and habits (like food or other).
    We absolutely love to have cooking exchanges and organize homemade "themed" dinners according to the helper's native country.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Being grown up, the kids are autonomous in many fields (they're actually learning to cook some simple dishes by themselves), so we're not in the need of a typical "babysitter", rather an older friend, a "third adult in the house", helping us in their everyday management. As we're off from work, we use to spend time with kids, that's why I'm saying we're looking just for "a little help". Moreover, grandparents live quite close to us and help a lot, lightening kids management even more. Usually, the helper will have almost every weekend free for themselves.

    As practical duties: while the schoolyear, driving them to school or sports activities are main ones; while the summer, spending time at the beach club.

    While the schoolyear: being the kids at school for most part of the day, the helper will have much free time to apply for their personal projects. That's why this experience is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT for students, digital nomads or just people who need time for their own personal project while traveling. We already hosted university students in the past, so we're used to respect the helper's personal duties as the ones of any other member of the family.
    While the summer: as kids are at the beach (almost everyday!), they usually play all day long with friends, so the helper could have much free time at the beach club: reading, swimming, playing or just relaxing are main activities.

    What do we ask the helper? I think that sharing time with an interesting person building their own personal project is a nice example for kids' personal growth itself, but getting practical, we could be interested into:
    - cooking some simple dishes: they loved French crepes, American pancakes, Argentinian empanadas, Polish soups and many other typical food
    - language teaching: most needed are English and French, as the ones taught at school. They know some words or grammar, but the only language they actually fluently speak is Italian. As an exchange, kids will be honored to teach the traveler some Italian... they're very good Italian speakers and teachers! Most of the helper we hosted learnt Italian very fast being with us!
    - guitar teaching: Pietro just began playing classical guitar at school.

    We're looking for a non-smoking, tidy person.
    We experienced that a sunny and proactive mood is essential to have a nice experience.

    Let's get in touch and discover if we match!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We're glad and proud to teach Italian! Most of the helper we hosted learnt Italian and soon stopped talking their native language. We guarantee a full immersion language experience! ;-))

  • Alojamiento


    Pisa: we live in a big flat on the fifth floor with a lift. There's a single private room for the helper. The house is in the city centre, 500 mt distant from the leaning tower.

    Viareggio: we live in a flat with a small garden at ground floor. The helper will have their own private bedroom. The beach club is about 5 km far from home and the main means of transport is bike.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In the traveler's time off, they're free to do whatever they prefer:
    - Pisa has an international airport, connecting with many other European cities, a train station, connecting with many Italian cities and a long distance bus stop
    - Viareggio has a train station connecting with many Italian cities and a long distance bus stop. The train to Pisa takes 15 minutes (in case you want to fly somewhere).
    In both cases, you can easily go almost everywhere from here!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    (JUST AS WE HOST IN PISA) Asking for not so many hours/day, the help we need is PERFECT for digital nomad: the helper will have much spare time for theirselves. Moreover, I usually prefer to host people who already have a personal project (a job or a passion, anything) as I think it's very important to introduce to the kids as many passionate people I can. We have a fiber wifi connection.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 749747823831

Comentarios (2)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Join our small family and help our daughter with learning English or French in Noto, Italy
Come help at our animal shelter in beautiful Sicily, Italy