Join me in my tiny, peaceful, 100-year-old cottage and experience nature of North Karelia, Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 73 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 2 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    I have a hundred year old tiny cottage in North Karelia, Eastern Finland. This area is known for its natural beauty and pristine lakes. The house and garden welcome volunteers to enjoy the stillness of this land, leave a positive mark, and help building and renovating.

    This place is in the middle of a forest and there's rich wildlife, especially pray birds are seen almost daily. It is really a wild environment, so we live along rabbits, ants, mosquitos (yep!), hawks, crows, and there's bigger animals too but it's very rare to see them. Also as it's remote, there's no pathways in the forests like in more habited areas, good rubber boots and a mosquito jacket are a must.

    Work projects – there's two main projects for this summer.

    DIY: this summer I would be renovating the sauna, so I need humans with DIY skills and help me mount heavy things. If there's anyone with experience building a green house from old windows, that'd be amazing.

    I would love to hear from people who are interested in either one of these projects. I'm not expecting you to work 5 hours a day, and I do ask you to share the costs of food and other household items.

    I bought our cottage as a beginner's project to owning a house, and it has taught me a lot about DIY. I have myself travelled all around the world and workawayed too, so I will make you feel at home and I you'll have time to explore the nature, howl at the moon, sit by a fire and enjoy your time in here.

    As the place is very simple without mod cons the lifestyle in itself takes time, as we need to heat washing water by fire, carry wood & water etc. There's no shower, washing machine or water pipes, so everything takes a bit more effort than you're probably used to. My wish is that you have some experience of being in a remote, quiet place and you have already worked on some DIY, building or decorating projects.

    I'm not the most keen cook, I like building projects much more (:D), so you'd prepare the meals too, and we can set up a rota of cleaning and cooking. I have a car and there's bicycles to go the shops. By bike it takes 40 mins and is a lovely ride through the forest. There's a superb clear lake nearby where you can swim & snorkel.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!


  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have travelled around the world and I know well how it is to arrive to a new country & place. I'm a writer, artist, meditation teacher, explorer of the world. North Karelia is a remote, pristine part of the world with amazing lakes, tiny beaches and natural reserves. You will learn about the simplicity of life, off-grid living, and build your understanding about practical spiritual life without mod cons. This place offers amazing connection to mama earth.

  • Ayuda


    1. Renovation! Some heavy lifting and cleaning old stuff from the garden to be taken out to the landfill. Chopping wood, clearing garage spaces from old furniture and other stuff, building an outdoor kitchen, cleaning.

    2. Posing for my illustrated book and helping building the scenes – arranging flowers, creating beautiful food, creating arrangements in the garden and so forth. If you're great at editing videos, help is welcomed.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You can choose your favourite spot in the house, it is TINY but we'll be fine. There's attic room, summer room, and one bedroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's two lakes nearby, other one of them is lovely for snorkelling and seeing fish! There's forest everywhere, you can explore by foot. Food shop, ATM, post office, bus stop etc are 8 km away, you'll get a lift there when needed or you can bicycle (takes 40 mins). There's several buses to the nearest town each day, it takes 1 hour to the city and return ticket costs 9 €. We are in the middle of a forest so bring mosquito repellent and zen mind with you :D

    I have run workshops and gatherings for several years, and I've written three fiction novels. I start my mornings with meditation, and Wim Hof breathwork. During summers, I live pretty intuitive life writing and preparing what needs my attention in the house. The place itself has a certain rhythm it seems, and the pace of living is slow yet I find things to do all the time. If you're into art, there's a possibility to create eco art in the garden or in to the forest around the house. We'll take turns preparing food and this too will go pretty organically, there's no official meal times.

    There's good internet, that's probably the most modern thing in here. Note, there's no running water and we use eco toilet :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have a decent & steady internet connection, yet I'm not sure if it's strong enought for big video downloads and such.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There's a possibility to connect a campervan to electricity.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Easy going, chill pets welcomed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2 hours

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 739231342916



Help restoring an old farm in magical Sipoonkorpi National Park, Vantaa, Finland
Help us with eco-friendly projects, painting, etc. in Manamansalo, Finland