Come Renovate, Landscape, and Play in Uniquely Historic Mountain Community

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

150 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    91.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

     

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, I'm Jocelyn, your host in the Rockies! Welcome to the wild, wild west! 8300 feet above sea level, high up in the Rocky Mtns, 45 mins west of Denver is a historic area in a hot vacation spot that blends cultural and historical richness with mountain paradise. This rugged, rustic community once accommodated such notable stars as Lena Horne, Langston Hughes, and Louis Armstrong nearly 100 years ago during segregation. The area is also abundant in the history of gold and silver mining, saloons and wild west living. The homestead overlooks the waters of South Boulder Creek and is surrounded by mountain views.

    The house sits on a hill and has had guests from all over the country and various parts of the world in the past 4 years. It's a place of nurture, beauty, and amazing history. Currently, it just houses one long-term individual on the upper level. Typically, there would be 2 -3 of us working on the renovations over several months, however, I have been called back to Boulder (35 minutes east) to care for my parent who has alzheimer's, so I will only be able to join the Workaway guest once or twice a week. That time together would be used to work on the dwelling and property and I hope to share a cultural excursion, showing you the mountain, mining, western, and African American history. There are amazing outdoor adventures in every direction. It is very important that I take you on the local town's Carousel of Happiness! It's tradition! Additionally, there are eateries, ice cream shops, bookstores, libraries, hiking trails, camping, casinos, skiing, and so much more, all within 15 -20 minutes driving. And, of course, the festivals and nightlife!

    This is a very zen summer project with lots of time to enjoy the fresh mountain air and life, watch the water and wildlife go by, go fishing, eat out, and just breathe. The scope of the project is primarily drywalling, flooring, basic plumbing (scouting out leaks, tightening/connecting/sealing joints, some landscaping, reorganizing space, reorganizing space,trash removal, painting and other minor projects. Access to a vehicle would be important. It would probably be a 2
    - 3 month project, but short stays, with a minimum of 1 week are possible. There's a 5 hour workday and $12/hr wage plus room (meals not included) for skilled labor such as basic plumbing, tiling, drywalling, carpentry. Unskilled labor such as deck maintenance, space organization, yard work, hauling, etc, would be compensated with room and board @$15/day. You would be sole occupant of the finished basement level - approximately 1000 s.f. with bedroom, king size bed, bathroom/shower, storage room, utility room, living room and kitchenette.

    All guests shop and prepare their meals. I'd like to treat you to a local meal in town if time permits.

    Other Details:
    Internet/phone service is sketchy with some phone carriers like Verizon, but seems to work with most other carriers. It works best with Cricket. Receiving a signal sometimes requires sitting on a log at the bottom of the driveway. WiFi is unavailable at this time, however, there are a number of places in town, 15 minutes north, offering free WiFi, including the library, coffee shops, restaurants, community center, and supermarket.


    Cleanliness and hygiene are important. Great communication, responsiveness, and friendliness are critical. I look forward to talking with you and hopefully welcoming you aboard!
    Warm regards,
    Jocelyn

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is an incredible opportunity to experience the great outdoors of Colorado, learn about the amazing details of this African American historic area that is regaining popularity since it's heydey between the 1930s and the 1950s, and learn about the wild west, gold and silver mining, mountain wildlife and more. If you want to hike, camp, snowshoe, hang out with great locals, and ski a LOT, this is the place to be.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Landscaping, weedwacking, auto mechanics, general building construction, trash clearing/hauling, general plumbing, remodel finishing, other outdoor projects.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Bedroom, king size bed, 3/4 bath, living room, refrigerator, hotplate, dryer (washer not available but there's a laundromat in town).1000 s.f.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This project will require 5 hrs a day, 5 days a week for a week to several months, but leaving time for recreation, sightseeing in Denver, about 45 minutes away or any of the many places to go in this part of Colorado.

    All workers should be 18 or over, have a valid drivers license, no felony record.

    It's a relaxed environment, but consistently hard work and good work ethics are needed.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hrs per day, 5 days week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 737725136827