Join our family, help my daughter with German and walk our dogs in London, UK


Gran Bretaña

907 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción


    *Because of Covid-19 travel restrictions, we are looking for a German speaker who is already in the UK.

    Would you like to stay in London, UK in return for teaching my daughter German/walking our dogs?

    WHO WE ARE: I'm a law lecturer living with my 18 year old daughter in London. My daughter is preparing to study Spanish and German (as a beginner) at university from October 2020.

    WE'RE LOOKING FOR: We'd love to host a dog friendly workawayer who speaks German.

    HOUSE: We live in a beautiful, light, large, 3 bedroom house with garden (with koi pond, dining area and summerhouse) in Camden, very close to Central London (minutes walk away from all public transport including tube, overground train, buses), a few minutes away from Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston stations and a very short bus ride from Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Tottenham Court Road, Covent Garden etc).

    We live with 4 little Maltese lap dogs (who do not shed hair, are tiny, cute, easy going and very affectionate :)

    YOUR ROOM: You will have a room with a huge bed (larger than superking size), wardrobe/cupboard/storage space, a desk & 2 chairs. The bed has a memory foam mattress and a choice of memory foam and feather pillows; there are dimmable lights, one large window with a black out blind, and views overlooking the garden. Immediately next door to the room is a bathroom for your exclusive use, with a shower, toilet, sink & mirrored cabinet for your use.

    FOOD: We welcome vegetarians, vegans or omnivores :)

    TOILETRIES: Basic toiletries like toilet rolls, tissues, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner (& room cleaning products) are included.

    INTERNET: You will have free use of unlimited, extremely high speed fibre optic broadband (for video streaming etc) throughout the whole house and garden (including the summerhouse). If you wish, you can also have exclusive use of an ipad and an Alexa speaker.

    TRAVEL: We have a selection of bicycles/locks for you to use :)

    MISC: if you want, we can help you find other, paid part-time work in our immediate area (eg. babysitting, dog walking, tutoring, gardening, DIY work, admin work, hospitality work etc) so that you can earn some money.

    WHO WE'RE LOOKING FOR: We're looking for someone who can stay until October 2020 and help us for a maximum 21 hours per week, doing a combination of German language teaching, dog walking &/or admin on days/times to be agreed (we are very flexible!)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live very close to central London - the 29 bus stop is 1 minute from our house and takes you straight to Trafalgar Square (in about 15 mins when there is little traffic). London has amazing free museums (eg. National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, British Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Natural History Museum, Tate Modern, Tate Britain etc) and cheap/fun things to do (exploring indoor and outdoor markets, second hand/charity shops, parks, architecture, theatre etc).

    We also live extremely close to Kings Cross, St Pancras & Euston and close to other stations (eg. Marylebone, Paddington, Waterloo) from where you can get trains to explore the whole country.

    We are easy going and friendly - we stay in touch with our former workawayers, many of whom have stayed with us for a long time (the longest stay was for 3 years!).

  • Ayuda


    We're looking for a couple who can stay for as long as possible (up until June/July 2020) and help us for a maximum 25 hours per week per person, doing a combination of dog walking and admin. The work would involve: 1 person doing 2 hours morning dog walking (any time you choose from about 7am-11am); 1 person doing 2 hours afternoon dog walking (anytime you choose from about 1pm - 5:30pm); both of you doing 1.5 hours admin (flexible hours: in the evening on Mondays and Tuesdays, and whenever suits by you/by mutual agreement on other days).

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    French: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    We live in a sunny, beautiful, big, 3 bedroom house with a garden in London - very close to the famous Camden market and within very easy reach of central London. We have unlimited and very fast internet, and subscription services to Sky TV, Netflix and Amazon Prime for you to use.

    You are welcome to cook, as long as you don't mind clearing up afterwards. You're also welcome to use the washing machine & tumble dryer for laundry.

    We do not smoke/vape and would not want to host anyone who smokes/vapes.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are so many things to see and do (many of which are free or very low cost), it would be impossible to list them all. We have dozens of London guide books and maps that you are very welcome to borrow.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    21 hours/week maximum.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 735727978577