Discover Colombia's vallenato and help our little hostel near Valledupar, Colombia

Country

Colombia

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/03/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This is a relatively new hostel in the village of Mariangola near Valledupar (Cesar province). While on the southern side of the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta mountains, this is the Caribbean region of Colombia. It's a small hostel, and really the only accommodation in the village. We would like to improve our services so that more international tourists visit us, and one of our objectives is to share our Caribbean culture with others. We think it would be very beneficial to the community to have visitors - and workawayers - from around the world to stay with us and get to know the people of Mariangola. We are open to any creative projects you would like to share with the community!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is Colombia's vallenato, a beloved type of music and dance here, and it is part of our everyday life! You may come to love it. There is also a lot to learn with regards to agriculture as well. Being on the northern side of the Sierra Nevada mountains, Mariangola is close to many native communities, especially the Arahuacos. Our community is a poor one, and there have not been many opportunities for young people here to interact with people from other countries. We think that this sharing of cultures makes for a rich experience for all.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The village of Mariangola is a farming (cacao, coffee, avocadoes, maize, etc.) village that was severely affected by violence during the armed conflict in Colombia. I am from Mariangola and I wanted to start a project to introduce my village to others and opened up a small guesthouse. It has gone well, but I would like to get help from international visitors in starting social projects with the community, promoting eco-tourism and helping the little posada grow. It is recommended in the Moon Cartagena and Colombia's Caribbean Coast guidebook.
    Workaway volunteers are needed to help us grow. We want self-starters full of energy and creativity to help us out at the hostel: managing social media accounts, helping out with guest check in, help us out as needed with cleaning of the rooms and grounds. We also want workawayers to explore projects in the community: mural projects with school children, offering English or other language lessons in conjunction with the village school, and helping us promote activities in the village and in the surrounding countryside. You can help us put our little community on the map!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We would offer a dormitory room for volunteers.

    Meals will be provided by us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many pueblos nearby in the area to visit, including indigenous villages. There are many walks to be made in the area. Valledupar is a large city (30 minutes bus ride) and there are bars, museums, restaurants and shopping malls to visit. On the other side of the mountains is the coast, with the beautiful beaches of Tayrona and the charms of sultry Santa Marta (4 hours by bus). Cartagena is a 7 hour bus ride away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 729162474487