Help an artist with gardens and building projects in Northland, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

194 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, my name is Magda, I'm an artist and all round creative person, living alone on my property in a beautiful forest valley. Gardening is a passion and I'm teaching myself all about growing, storing and preserving food so I can buy less from the store. I'm also working on some building renovation.

    I'd really love to share this project with any travellers who are interested in the idea of self-sustainability, slow living, and living from the land.
    There's a lot of outdoor space here to stretch your legs and get out into nature. The river which runs through the property is great for swimming in summer, and there are short hiking tracks in the forest.

    As well as being a painter I enjoy songwriting, and I play some guitar on occasion. I'm also active in native forest and bird conservation, and have a multitude of DIY building projects around the property that are being worked on at a slow pace as there are so many of them. The two bigger projects are building another cabin, and converting an old bus into bed and breakfast accomodation.

    My animal family includes Saba, a big friendly dog, and out on the farm waits Sassafras who is a very large attention-seeking horse, Georgia the pig, Sheba the new pet piglet, and 20 free-ranging ducks.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Setting up on my own, on bare land with not much money, I've collected lots of stories over the past 10 years, and hopefully some are entertaining and some informative. All the things I've done wrong, and the things that have gone right, I'm happy to share everything I've learnt.
    I like to laugh and have a good chat while working, share stories, and I like to see other women make independent dreams and not be limited by traditional gender roles. It took me a while, but I've learned building construction, bought my own chainsaw, installed fireplaces, learned DIY plumbing and drain-laying, solar panel installation and wiring, and converted the old bus into accomodation.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The help is sometimes gardening, which involves weeding in vegetable or flower garden, or pulling/cutting larger pasture weeds. Sometimes gathering mulch for the gardens, watering, digging and planting seedlings or trees, mowing lawn and orchard grass, clearing fence lines of tall grass. Sometimes there is firewood chopping, carrying, stacking. Also some cleaning jobs.
    These tasks are mostly easy and involve working alone at your own pace. I'm happy for workawayers to choose the jobs they are most comfortable and interested in doing. I'm also happy for you to structure and plan your own work days.

    There are also more complicated projects which you can work on together with me, such as building and maintenance, and things that require two people. I work on these in the afternoons once I've finished my morning hours in the painting studio.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    This winter, which is June, July, August, September, accomodation is a really nice sunny room at my parents home next door, which they used for bnb in summer. It has wifi, privacy, and a heater.

    My house-bus, which is the usual accommodation, is currently undergoing renovation.

    The accommodation is for non smokers only.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This is a good place to take a slow break and spend some time being creative. Be prepared to entertain yourself here on the property with things like books, journal, podcasts or arts and crafts to work on.

    If you have your own transport there are lots of beautiful beaches to visit around the far north.
    For those without their own car, the town/shops are not within walking distance. There are no buses that go past here but you may be able to catch a ride to town.

    There's limited mobile reception here for spark and skinny mobiles, and none at all for 2degrees or vodaphone. There is plenty of internet though.

    Being surrounded by forest means you can expect some flying biting insects, so personal insect repellent for your skin and a few pairs long trousers and socks are a must!
    Bring sensible shoes for working in, and a rain coat if it's winter or spring, it rains a lot here from June through to October.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 722479792116