Help us with our olive garden and enjoy a cultural exchange in Aix en Provence, France

Country

Francia

47 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, I'm a Canadian, from Vancouver, living in Aix en Provence for the last 30 years. We have a large property with olive trees and always need assistance with that ! You'll have your own private bedroom/bathroom (share wc), have lots of room and lots of free time to explore the area.
    We sometimes welcome woofers to help with the tree maintenance, trimming/recolting/fertilizing, digging out wild baby olive trees and replanting them, etc. The vegetable gardens start up in March and planting starts in April; activities include rototilling, sowing, watering, weeding. Retrieving wood from the forest, chopping, piling, is an all-year affair. We'd like to fix up the caravane so that we may welcome a woofer or workawayer in it.
    Inside the house you'll find our two daughters, 21 years old, in need of help with Italian; we can offer French and English in exchange. Painting, bricolage, bathroom renovation, these are all future projects. You will have a car for your use if needed.
    We are a carnivores but enjoy eating pulses, fruits and vegys of course. I buy organic when I can, but not always. If you have special eating needs we will try to accommodate you,
    We have a larger property in Nyons in the Drôme where you'd be welcome as well; the Domaine de Chausan is the large red building in the photos.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a rural environment but we're only a short drive (5 minutes) from the centre of Aix where you can enjoy the city life, attend exhibitions, visit museums, colorful markets, etc. Working with olive trees will bring you knowledge of this particular type of agriculture. We have bee hives on our property, owned by a local bee keeper; if you're interested in that we can get ask David to tell you all about his job (he keeps his bees on our land in exchange for a few jars of honey per year).Our family is bilingual English/French and happy to communicate in either language. Before covid I taught English as a second language here in Aix. We have a 2 year-old dog of mixed race, but I welcomed another dog from the SPCA on a temporary basis until she's adopted by her forever family....

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Outside help would be maintaining the olive trees, trimming, watering, weeding; cutting grass, tidying up, digging, raking and filling up the holes the dogs have made !
    Inside help would be assistance house cleaning, painting if we get around to it !

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    My husband Benoit speaks Italian very well, some Provençale. He is a history fanatic, can spend the night in discussion. The girls are perfectly bilingual English/French, while my mother tongue is English and I get by with French.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live on the ground floor of a large house. The upstairs is completely independant; one of the rooms is rented; the other two bedrooms are for woofers or workaways ! You are welcome (and kind of expected), to eat your meals with our family; I'd appreciate your help and suggestions with meals. However if you prefer buying and preparing your own food upstairs that's possible too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The bus passes in front of the house; you'll be in Aix en Provence in 15 minutes; from there the world is your oyster, going to Marseille, côte d'azur......

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have no problems with wifi !

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of room for any size camper.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    No problem with well-behaved pets. We have a dog ourselves.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 721996678331