actualizado  

Live and help us build up our little dream in sunny countryside in Toffia, Italy

  • 147 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 25 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! This is Emanuela, I live among the beautiful hills of Sabina. I love the mellow countryside life and I need help taking care of this beautiful piece of land and its inhabitants. I call it "our orderly growing food forest". There's a secluded vegetable garden, some fruit and olive trees, and aromatic plants for the bees to enjoy! There are also 4 amazing dogs, 3 cats and 2 sheep, all very cuddly. My priorities are my loved ones and I would gladly welcome anyone who is willing to help and enjoy my home.

    As you can see, this used to be a couple profile. I will come back to update it - I'm taking my time - but I'm ready to embrace what life is holding for me next.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Emanuela will tell you about her choice to live by Permaculture principles. She is a Waldorf Teacher and teacher trainer now taking some time off - she gets passionate while talking about pedagogy! She organized PDC and courses in organic and regenerative agriculture for about 10 years. She cooks and bakes. Also, she will share some tricks, like using coffee grounds to clean oily dishes and how to fit hundreds of plants in a small vegetable garden, and she could tell you about edibles. She would rather speak English, so she's not the best host if you want to learn Italian, unless you already have a good level and just want to improve it. Gardening and cooking are a sort of meditation for her, she will talk if people are around but she prefers to work quietly so that she can better connect with what she is doing and creating. Observe her, that's the best way to learn from her. But don't just stand there, make yourself useful ;)

    While Emanuela is talkative but requires some time to actually open up (and for you to get to know her best qualities), Roberto is (a lot) more quiet and easygoing. He mainly takes care of the farmhouse, which is a family business. He studied environmental science and biology for many years, then decided for a more proactive contribution and became a farmer. So he met and matched with Emanuela's saying "You are what you do, not what you say". Roberto could teach you juggling and how to slackline, and essential quotes from Neapolitan filmography. You could also try to persuade him to give you piano lessons.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are seeking help with general maintenance, some gardening and weeding, fruits/vegetables picking to make preserve or to dry (depending on the season), household duties (cleaning) and animal care (they need lots of brushing and cuddling all year long!). Some knowledge of woodworking and DIY might come in handy. Carpenters are more than welcome! There's always something to renovate - a soon to do job is re-varnishing of our wooden shed. We'd also like to make a pond, outdoor toys and sandpit for Emanuela's educational (distant) future project: a Waldorf outdoor kindergarten!
    ________________________________________________________________
    LOOKING FORWARD TO 2024
    We started hosting from workaway in 2022, we had a great time and met wonderful people!

    I'm looking for independent workawayers that I can entrust with some daily chores (weeding/mowing, house cleaning, some painting, sewing, small DIY projects) and cooking (experience with vegan + gluten free cooking is preferable) that are willing to chip in for grocery shopping as they are going to have a lot of free time.

    • MAR-APR I'm currently doing a workaway myself and I'll be back at the end of March; I'll need help to start the vegetable garden. Strength (I've got very little!) and some experience in a permaculture garden are preferable. I'd also like to create shaded area in the garden.
    • MID MAY-JUN It will all depends on what I get done the previous months and how the season goes...
    • JUL-AUG I'm going to be very busy at work and won't be home much. This is the best time to come for a couple to enjoy: each other, sunny days, the surroundings (if you come by car), the idle time, lots of vegetables from the garden (hopefully!), festival in Toffia and nearby villages. What I will need help with: I'd like to come back to a clean and tidy home, maybe even have some dinner ready to share together, I will entrust you with some tasks in the garden and other jobs depending on your skills; the dogs will need to be groomed!
    • SEP-OCT It's time to set up the winter vegetable garden + housesitting will be needed
    ________________________________________________________________
    NOTE: I wrote the following before I went back to a full time job.
    I decided to keep it as I still feel it can give an overall overview

    To ensure a better experience, please take note of the following seasonal overview
    ***Please make sure to let us know your skills and what you'd like to help with. Write about it in your message.***

    SUMMER. When the heat starts to hit, we wake up early and usually work in the garden for a couple of hours before 9 as Emanuela can't really stand the heat. We then have breakfast, tidy up, rest/study or spend productive time in the kitchen. We prepare lunch all together. After lunch we enjoy a "pennichella" and then we study and/or work some more. Of course it may vary depending on weather condition. This is to say that while you are requested to wake up early you will also have a lot of free time! Or if you don't mind the heat and like to work independently you can manage your own hours :)

    AUTUMN. Finally we get to sleep a bit more! We really like going with the seasons and Fall means there's still a lot to do but there are less hours to get things done. Each of us has a job assigned and we ask our workawayers to be flexible as work varies with the weather. Please, share your expectations so that we can try to plan accordingly.

    WINTER. As nature slow down and everything becomes quite, so does our life. We concentrate on ourselves and our relationship. We make a sort of recap and start imagining the future. We prefer not to host during this time.

    SPRING. It is impossible to foreseen all that there's going to be to do! Surely it's time to work in the garden, so if you wish to learn more about it from early March to May/June it is the best time. Also for hiking! We prefer not to host first time workawayer during this period though, especially because we would like to delegate some of the work.

    Last but not least, please note that we don't have a tight schedule.

    LONG TERM PROJECTS
    If you wish to stay for a long period we'll be happy to sort out a project. It could be the construction of a greenhouse made with old windows or the entire renovation of our kitchen. Or maybe you come up with a great idea and we'll be happy to hear it!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We don't feel like we are the best host to teach Italian as we are both fluent in English; Roberto is also fluent in Spanish, Emanuela learned it viajando por Argentina and she would like to practice more. Emanuela would also like to start learning Finnish!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will stay in the spare room with private bathroom (on different floors). You are expected to keep them clean and contribute to house cleaning. The room is furnished with a double bed, closet and desk. I used to rent it out. It is silent and it overlooks the mountain. From the outside, you might hear cows' bells, eagles' callings and horses' clop. You will hear the church bells chiming the hour, the marching band and some music coming from the village. There's no need for AC as the house is insulated.

    I'm vegan + GF and very creative in the kitchen; I use spices and flavour that aren't usual for an Italian. I also bake sourdough bread and like to experiment. In the past two years I would always cook for our workawayers (I'd really enjoy it and it felt like the best way to show them my gratitude); recently I've kinda lost my drive and my work hrs sure don't make it any easier. But I promise I will make pizza for you :)) If you want to eat eggs or dairies (which you will have to buy yourself) there's a designated pan but please be reminded that you shall be responsible of your own garbage, included food waste that doesn't go in the compost.

    Please use water with parsimony, this is not the place for you if you need to shower constantly. Our guest bathroom doesn't have a window, so it would be best if you could take a shower during the day and not in the evening in order to be able to turn off the fan at night.

    I try to be as much plastic and garbage free as possible. Please try and do your part.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We prefer to host 2 workawayers (friends or couple) at a time, especially if they're skilled or very creative. We feel they could better enjoy their free time and work independently.

    Our house is in the countryside, in a suggestive medieval town. You could hike to explore the surrounding. Public transport isn't unfortunately available; but if you come by train there's a bus going from the station to Toffia.

    We are both 38 y.o. and quite simple. We like to hike and to spend our free time idly, playing board games (usually when the days get shorter) and cards (please come if you are a burraco player and beat Emanuela!), or even watching movies (preferably during a rainy afternoon). We go to sleep early, except when we meet up with friends, all nice and interesting people that will be happy to meet you!

    We do NOT host smokers, sorry!

    Feel free to ask us questions.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We think our place is more suitable for those who enjoy nature and have a flexible schedule but we too have some work/study to do at the computer and therefore are happy to welcome digital nomads.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 765924224269

Comentarios (7)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.8)











Help with new gardening, vegetable garden, sandpapering the gates in Turin, Italy
Ayuda en mis terrenos y casa en el campo, y quizás cuidar de una casa en Italia