3.5 year-old Vizsla doggo looking for love and cuddles while we are away, Leer (Ostfriesland) Germany



282 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    Hello there :-)

    This is Caro and Nick and Jupiter!

    We love cooking, hosting and traveling, hiking, spending time on the coast and listening to audiobooks in the car, and enjoying life with Jupiter, our adorable and energetic, adventurous 3.5-year-old Hungarian Vizsla boy.

    We met in 2010 during our graduate school years in the US, have lived in San Francisco, Boston, the Western German city of Trier, Berlin and Cork in Ireland, got married in Denmark in the summer of 2014. We have an extensive guest book of visitors we have hosted, from friends and family to couch-surfers, workaway travelers and nomadors to see after Jupiter, our plants and house.

    It’s been a wild ride and we have enjoyed meeting every person who has set foot through our threshold. We are very creative people and share a love of food, people, animals, art and travel while at the same time have committed ourselves to confronting and engaging in work against society’s worst tendencies.

    Currently, we live in the idyllic town called Leer in Northwestern Germany in the region of East Frisia. Our house has 2 bedrooms, an office, a living room, dining room, two bathrooms and a very well-stocked kitchen.

    Caro, a passionate lifelong traveler and teacher of languages and culture, finished her PhD in English and Film Studies and works at University College Cork (remote). In addition to her teaching and research schedule, she bakes up an absolute storm of cakes and pastries, is learning the subtle craft of smashing the living daylights out of the drums, runs like an approaching tornado and is putting in the hours to forge ahead with our independent entrepreneurial project which seeks to build a network of qualified cultural mediators who can interface with immigrants and reduce the burden of adapting to a new and complicated administrative culture.

    Nick is self-employed an editor and undertakes a number of projects in order to satisfy the begging creative force that cries from within, including photography, writing, a lot of music, and savory and preserving culinary arts. He also leads the charge on the fermentation front, having built home-brewing systems and designing amazing beers wherever we happen to be living.

    Nearby cities of Oldenburg (35mins), Bremen (60mins) or Groningen (60mins) as well as many cute little Frisian towns all over the place have boutique shopping, beaches, grocery stores, and more amenities and coastal access to the North Sea.

    We have reliable Wifi access and plenty of space to work if you work remotely. You can also access our Netflix and other services! We have some musical instruments for use and books to read, so if you are looking for a relaxing time-out from the business of life, this house is the place to come get comfortable, reconnect with nature and relax!

    We will be traveling to a wedding abroad and taking a few business trips in the coming months and need someone who loves and is excellent with dogs. You should enjoy doing a few daily dog training exercises, but also want to put your feet up and enjoy a cuddling with Jupiter, and prepare meals in a well-stocked kitchen.

    Oh, and just because we live in this strange new world now, we are both fully vaccinated, boosted, and very careful and mindful!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our workawayers will benefit in many ways, e.g.:

    • Hang out with an amazing dog and train (snuggle) with him
    • Learn about rural and urban life in beautiful Northwestern Germany
    • Learn how to do a 1,000 things at the same time
    • Develop your culinary expertise and repertoire (we have loads of books and are constantly learning!)
    • Learn and practice a different language (English, German)
    • Meet locals and internationals in the area

  • Ayuda


    Your main and most important responsibilities are the care of our dog. Jupiter is a very intelligent, loving, snuggly 3.5 year-old Vizsla boy, with a lot of energy and a love of mischief and pushing boundaries.

    He needs to be fed twice a day and given some exercise and mental stimulation. We are training him in obedience with some simple rules we can explain more thoroughly later on (like sitting down before racing out the door).

    Jupiter likes to cuddle in the mornings after breakfast and in the evening before he goes to bed in his crate (he usually looks for lots of attention and contact, so part of the training is to teach him some more independence through occasional periods of ignoring or short daily crate time sessions). He can run free in our garden and is allowed to roam the entire house and patio. He is a very sensitive and emotional guy, so he might need some extra love while we are away!

    It is very (!) important that you have experience with dogs and that you are strong enough to handle a 30kg Vizsla boy :-) Because he is strong, well-trained but needs guidance and boundaries. Experience with dogs is thus essential, and experience with dog training is a plus! So, you really need to be a dog lover, if you want to stay with us because Jupiter is a full family member and very much involved in everything we do! :-)

    Also, you would water our plants while we are away (we have a small and growing avocado tree and a couple of herbs and plants that need some water and some love!).

    Other basic tasks include keeping the recycling and trash managed, airing rooms if they get too humid: normal house stuff!

    NOTE: We are not looking for long-term workawayers as we travel so much and are hardly ever there for a month at a time ourselves. So, generally, we would invite you to stay with us for 2-3 weeks and if it really works out well, we can maybe discuss and add another week or 2 to your stay; but we are generally not looking for workawayers to stay 2-3 months.

    Also, since we have gotten a lot of request that have (sadly) shown us that people didn't read our profile, please include the word BABOON in your request to show you have read it!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante
    Holandés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We can offer you your own private room with cozy blankets, pillows and fresh towels. We have a lot of lactose-free-friendly options on hand and are well-versed in gluten-free as well, and without question, always good coffee.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We currently live in Northwestern Germany, between Hamburg and the Dutch border, in an adorable old brick house in the famous region of East Frisia. We moved here last year from Ireland!

    Leer (34K population), is a quaint and lovely little place with all the things you need: from a beautiful old part of the town to shopping opportunities, the close by North Sea beaches and fishing villages, the proximity to the Netherlands and a lot of nature walks and hiking and biking options! Although Leer is a city, we live on the outskirts and life here is not very busy. However, if you want restaurants, a cinema, cafés, museums etc. - there are PLENTY close by - in town and in towns and cities not too far away. The area is very green, a famous area of Germany where people like to vacation due to it's easy and close access to the North Sea and the East Frisian islands.

    Neighborhood walks or jogs on sunny days are recommended, or spending time exploring Leer, East Frisia, the North Sea coast, Bremen, Oldenburg or the Netherlands and many opportunities and great places around here, and kicking back with us in the evening. We also have a Switch and a PS4 and a couple of games, so there’s that or a couple good books for when it’s completely raining sideways.

    We both work from home and spend a lot of time exploring the area, cooking, hanging out with Jupiter and creating things! We have a little garden and a patio, and we love to spend time in the sun and in nature. We are very easy going and so is our life-style! Come join us! :-)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have excellent, fast wifi that reaches almost everywhere in the house and, for laptops, even fairly far out into the yard/garden.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Would love to have your pets stay with us, too, they just need to get on with our 3.5 year-old Vizsla boy Jupiter, who has a lot of energy and opinions :-)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible, talk to us)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 717854365121

Regala Workaway
leer más

Encuentra a tu anfitrión perfecto