Help with permaculture and more in Homer, Alaska

Country

Estados Unidos

121 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    58.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'm a happy, gay man who values self-reliance. Food is my passion: growing, harvesting, preparing and eating. The island lies about seven miles across Kachemak Bay from the Homer Spit. I live where the mountains meet the sea.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In many ways, Alaska doesn't feel like America to me and I'm glad for that. Alaskans generally look out for their neighbors and demonstrate the initiative that any sensible immigrant displays. The "culture" that I have to offer is the knowledge of living simply in a people-centered manner. I don't work hard, but I keep moving and I appreciate people who work independently with circumspection. I keep a few kayaks on the island and occasionally lead tour groups in kayak/camping trips. The mountains on the south side of the bay offer plenty of exploring opportunities.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I'm preparing to donate several acres of an Alaskan island to some local non-profits. In order to transfer the property I have lots of trail work coming up this year. I also keep a few chickens, ducks, turkeys, and rabbits. In addition I like to grow food in a permaculture approach (aspiring to Steiner's biodynamic methods). I'm especially interested in how mushrooms contribute to/remediate/amend soil. My old outdoor kitchen is in need of a conversion, and I've begun construction on an interesting hexagonal structure for the new outdoor kitchen. I prefer to find visitors who are willing to stay for at least four weeks, but I'm open to whomever is interested in our rustic Alaskan lifestyle. Workers generally help 4-5 hours/day, five days/week, although that's negotiable.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Visitors stay in tents and have access to the outdoor kitchen, which I keep well-stocked with good, basic vegetarian fair with occasional eggs and fish, and rarely, wild game.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I transport visitors to and from the Homer Spit in my own aluminum skiff. When the weather is especially challenging I rely on water taxis to help out. Island life is rustic and simple. The skiff also affords us the opportunity to explore more of Kachemak Bay's interesting areas. I delight in creating special wilderness trips for visitors on their days off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 711335332431