Help us build our house in the Alentejo countryside, Portugal

  • 50 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19 feb 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Hi there!
    We are Mithad (47) and Jakob (26). Last year we came to Portugal to start living on our 1 hectar land here in the southern alentejo. Now, 7 months have passed and we’ve been very busy, working on all kinds of projects like building a little house, getting electricity and running water, shower, compost toilet, fencing, planting trees and also starting to get some plants growing for the garden. Now there is another big job to be done: building a larger house. We’re planning to start within the next weeks and we would love to have some helping hands!
    Apart from that we also appreciate anyone who is interested to help creating our garden or building dry stone walls for the terraces that we made to plant olive trees.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will get to know the Portuguese country life, in the middle of nature and far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We show you how to build a house and you can get to know an alternative lifestyle. You will experience the first beginnings of our project so that there will be a lot of new things not only for you but also for us. In your free time we can go on trips together, to the lake, to the sea, wherever you want. If you would like to surf we have two mini Malibu boards and wetsuits available. If you have your own car you can of course explore the area on your own or you can get on a train and go to Lisbon or Faro over the weekend, it's quick and cheap.

    Please note, that we are 25 minutes away from the next city and half an our from the nearest beach by car!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    we need to organise the building process- preparing the area for the concrete base, laying wires and pipes, and when the concrete floor is finished we will start putting up the walls using bricks, which will later be sealed with a cob plaster. After that we put a wooden roof and roof tiles on top.
    You will be part of the whole process taking over the task that suits you the best.
    It is not necessary that you already have any building experiences as long as you are willing to learn. Mithad is a Carpenter, has build his own house before and knows how to do it! Shovelling sand or Carrying bricks and timber can be tough, especially when it’s hot but it’s also a good way to get in shape

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Turco: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Interested in learning Portuguese but also keen to refresh the English skills

  • Alojamiento


    Unless you’re travelling with your van you will be staying in our caravan which has a big bed, sitting area and very small kitchen in case you want to prepare your own food but generally we would eat all together and you are very welcome to cook too if you like! (We eat mostly vegetarian but sometimes fish and meat too)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In order to get to our place you take a train to the Santa Clara station or a bus to Sao teotonio where we can pick you up.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Campervan travellers welcome, several nice parking spots available

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you want to bring pets we can talk about that

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 688116451223