Be part of a permaculture project at our Bali-inspired home on the Sunshine Coast, Australia

Country

Australia

71 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Suella: retired librarian, gardener, Permaculture student, musician (piano, ukulele), cook. John: vegan, musician (classical guitar, bass, lead, ukulele), bush walker, nature lover, gardener. We have a beautiful Bali-inspired home surrounded by a 1 acre garden that we're developing to provide us with our fruit and vegetable needs. Set in a eucalyptus forest in a quiet rural part of the Sunshine Coast.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a beautiful area, Glasshouse Country, the hinterland to Queensland's Sunshine Coast. We are surrounded by the outstandlingly beautiful Glasshouse Mountains, with the many climbing and bushwalking tracks.

    We've planned our garden to encourage native birds, and have daily visits from flocks of fairy wrens, pigeons, king parrots and sating bowerbirds. We have the occasional visit from wallabies and bandicoots. We've found a naturally occurring hive of native bees, and have many varieties that help pollinate our plants.

    We're close to the colourful town of Maleny, which has a strong culture in cooperatives and Permaculture, and we are close to Crystal Waters Permaculture Eco-Village and the Blackall Range strip of towns like Montville and Flaxton. The beaches of Caloundra are 30 minutes away.

    I'm part of the local gardening club, and have helped start the Maleny Permaculture group. I've invested time in understanding the soil in our area, which has specific requirements for gardening success, and we are starting to have good results in the garden. I'm currently studying a Permaculture Design Certificate online taught by Morag Gamble, an outstanding teacher who lives 30 minutes away in the Crystal Waters Eco-village, which is well worth a visit.

    My husband is a classical guitarist, and we play ukulele together, including in our small ukulele group. We have an extensive music collection across jazz, rock, pop and classical, and a large DVD collection.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have 1 acre of subtropical land that we're applying a Permaculture design to. We've built many large wicking beds, and have several interesting projects ready to start:
    - firing up our biochar furnace;
    - creating a black soldier fly farm (for composting and to feed our chickens)
    - building a compost tea brewer
    - working out an effective fertigation system.
    We're also planting fruit trees, and build hot composts every few months.

    Previous Workawayers have been fantastic and have helped us:
    - build a large gabion wall which we have used to build garden beds and a chicken pen.
    - built a Johnson-Su composting bioreactor
    - built a continuous flow worm farm.

    We try to make the Workaway stay stimulating and a great learning experience.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I'd love to be able to communicate in French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a spare room with bunks (a double bed and a single), or a loft room with a view to the garden. My husband is a vegan; I'm not, so we eat a wide variety of food. We eat a lot of fruit and salads.

    We are dependent on tank water, so need to be very economic with our water use.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Bush walks: Mt Ngungun, Mt Tibrogargan, Mary Cairncross Rainforest Reserve (amazingly beautiful ancient rainforest).
    Tourist towns: Montville, Maleny. Beaches: Caloundra, Golden Beach, Dickie Beach, Moffat Beach.
    Scenic drives: Mountain View Road, Old Gympie Road (views of the individual Glasshouse Mountains).
    Nearby towns: Beerwah (10 minutes): supermarkets, pub, library, business hub; Caloundra (25 minutes): beach town,
    Large commercial centres: Maroochydore, Caloundra, Caboolture (30 minutes).
    One hour to Brisbane.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We don't have fantastic broadband here (no NBN yet, as our only choice is satellite). But, if you bring your own modem, we're happy for you to work from our place in your time.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We don't have spare covered parking but have plenty of space for you to park a car or van.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 668317748694