1 / 5

Riding and fishing buddies needed to build and play in the historic Cariboo, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 36 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 27 abr 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Join us this summer to work, play and explore the scenic beauty and history of the Cariboo! We're pretty new here ourselves, purchasing the property in 2015, it has taken us a few years to get our feet firmly planted and figure the place out.
    Now we are ready to forge ahead and share our good fortune with some kindred spirits!
    Abused and neglected by the previous owners, all of the buildings here are in desperate need of TLC. Winterizing and adding supports are a main priority, we are comfortable with rough and rustic, but we don't want buildings to deteriorate to the point of not being repairable. We hope to spend the next 20 years here, but without some help we may not be able to.
    In addition to the farm we breed an occasional litter of pomeranian and papillon dogs. We've got three gorgeous horses that could use some exercise and training miles, and our property borders crown land, so we have access to unlimited miles of trails to explore. Cross the main road and through a gate and many, many more miles of developed and cleared trails, leading to a waterfall and other attractions.
    There is a local gymkhana/playday held weekly by the local gymkhana club for even more horse related activities.
    We also have a couple of ponies with harness and cart, one fully broke to drive and the other in need of starting in harness.
    Fishing is hubby's leisure activity and he would enjoy having someone to join him, we have numerous well populated lakes within a short drive, and a rowboat and kayak to get out to where the fish are biting.
    We're not used to asking others for help, all of our lives we have gone out of our way to help others develop and improve their land and homes. We gathered materials and tools, then shared them with others that already had land and homes to use them. When a friend's home burnt to the ground we invited their family into our home and shared freely with them everything we could to get them started again.
    Thank you for taking the time to read our story, even if you can't help, warm wishes and positive thoughts are always welcome!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have so many skills and so much knowledge I can offer in return. From animal husbandry, feeding and nutrition, livestock selection and breeding, marketing, horsemanship,, nutrition, breeding, marketing and sales of pets, photography, graphic design, herbal and alternative remedies for humans, pets and livestock, making tinctures, infusions, salves, ointments and lotions. computers, internet, social media, web design and marketing and a whole range of homestead skills such as baking, canning, preserving, felting, millinery, gardening, candle making, braiding, splicing, bread making etc.
    The area we live in has a rich history in cattle ranching, and several books have been penned detailing the exploits of early settlers, names like Pan Philips, Rich Hobson and Eric Collier searched on google will give you an idea of the early years.
    For those adventurers interested in the rich history of gold prospecting, we're close enough to the historic towns of Wells and Barkerville for daytrips, and we may even be able to arrange for you to do some prospecting of your own on some locally owned gold claims.
    My family were among the early settlers in BC,, settling in the fertile Similkameen Valley, so I can also regale you with some family tales not published anywhere!

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for help mostly with building repairs, maintenance and upgrades as well as tree removal and cutting firewood for next winter. Helping with the garden, cooking meals, animal care and fencing would be wonderful too, but right now we are in serious need of getting some much needed repairs and renovations happening and stockpiling some firewood for next winter. We were unable to get wood last year, and the cost of electricity over the winter made it challenging to make ends meet on our small pensions.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will stay in your own quaint, private, detached A frame with electricity and outhouse, one room with a loft, hot plate, microwave oven. RV parking may be available without hook ups. Help with meals is more than welcome, I'm a decent cook, but not really great with the regularity part ;) We'll supply fresh, healthy food, (produced locally whenever possible), our freezers are well stocked with farm raised meats, and we have a wonderful local grocer to supply fruits and vegetables.
    I've got a full range of kitchen gadgets which I'm happy to share, and we enjoy cooking outdoors on our campfire pits as long as there are no fire restrictions in place.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have limited internet and no cell phone service, so no movie streaming, online games etc. We do not permit the use or possession of other drugs, including alcohol, tobacco and other nicotine products. We grow and smoke our own cannabis (legally of course) and we have no problem if guests wish to indulge as well. We have limited water supply on the property due to a slow recovering well.
    Lots to do in the area, multiple lakes nearby offer fishing, swimming, boating etc, the local gymkhana club puts on a weekly event for all to enjoy, lots of wildlife, property adjoins crown land with miles and miles of trails and back roads to explore.
    We can provide transportation to and from town, and any of the 3 airports nearby, as well as day trips or? Retirement allows us to be very flexible, if there is somewhere further afield that you would like to check out, just let us know and maybe we can make it happen! We're up for adventures, still young enough to enjoy a road trip around this beautiful province we live in!
    We live a quiet, peaceful life, but we do have numerous dogs on the property, so things can get noisy at times. We enjoy our privacy, and the property is well laid out to allow both our cabin and the guest area plenty of privacy.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 665329586953