Come and help us with our Sled dog kennel and learn about sled dogs, gardening and beekeeping in Porcupine Plain, Canada

Country

Canadá

135 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I live with my husband and a large number of Sled dogs in NE Saskatchewan. Winter is a busy time training dogs for racing and summer is for gardening and yard maintenance . We live 10 minutes from a small town and 25minutes from a provincial park. There is opportunity for outdoor/wilderness activities as canoing or camping.
    Our home is surrounded by forest and there is lots of wildlife. We have a guest cabin or spare room in the main house!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We speak Swedish and English. You will have a chance to learn about sled dogs, you will travel to different places for races and meet a lot of people ( mushers).
    Hours can be long some days and not so much other days. Hard and rewarding work.
    You will learn all there is about mushing and to survive the Canadian winter.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    In the spring and summer I need help with dog care, as in feeding dogs, watering dogs, general dogcare. I need help with gardening, general household chores as cooking, and cleaning. In the fall and winter I need a doghandler. A dog handler will feed dogs ( involves handling raw meat), give water to dogs, scoop poop as daily chores. You will also be helping with training dogs. We train with the help of quads and snowmobiles, you will be helping harnessing, and hooking dogs up to the line. There will be opportunity to learn to drive a dog team with a dogsled. A dog handler will have to be physically fit , (carrying 5 gallon buckets with water). Be able to enjoy getting cold, wet, muddy and slathered with dog kisses. You will be required to come along to races, or stay back to look after things at home, if the mushers travel.
    The hours can be long some days. The season starts in September and the last race is in April. We are looking for someone who can commit for the winter. A drivers licence is a must.
    For the right person this will be a good adventure, you will experience winter, and you will learn to dress for -40C. At the end of the season you will be able to run a dog team on your own.
    Our kennels consist of about 50 distance sled dogs and about 40 sprint dogs.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Sami: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a cabin in our yard, fully equipped with two bed rooms. Appropriate for one or two people. We also have a spare bedroom in our basement.
    All meals will be provided by us, but I would like help cooking and preparing the meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Porcupine Plain is about 10 km from us. There is all necessary services in town, as bank, hospital, stores, cafes. Not much for entertainment, but there is a library and a bar in town!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 661924956354