Learn about western horse riding and training and show cutting horses in Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canadá

206 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My wife and I are retired teachers with extensive travel experience. Over the years we have raised our own Quarter horses for cutting horse events. As an amateur I now have time to train and show our own horses in cutting horse competitions. I train and show between 4 -5 of my own cutting horses. As my herd has grown I now require assistance with this activity which will include riding, grooming, barn chores, and travelling to cutting horse shows during the show season. In the past we have hosted many school aged international exchange students in the and enjoy including them in our family. We have hosted 5 workawayers and really enjoyed all the different aspects of each person. We also get great satisfaction learning about culture, foods, lifestyles etc from other countries. Exposure and experience with horses on our little personal training program will be extensive and each person gains a great amount of experience and knowledge in performance horse training.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    A traveler here will gain extensive experience on the training, grooming, caring for, and the showing of cutting horses. The work away traveler will be provided a horse to ride and learn how to train, show, groom, etc. The work away traveler will also get cutting horse riding lessons. And, travel to cutting horse shows in British Columbia and Alberta will expose someone to interesting areas of Western Canada. When travelling to cutting horse shows, all expenses for the work away traveler are covered. Also, the work away traveler will receive an allowance while helping on the show trips. The host family has cared for many international students from Korea, Germany, Denmark, Japan, and Sweden and enjoy meeting and learning about other cultures with horses being the medium.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Ability and experience with riding horses is required and any experience riding in western style is a bonus. The traveler will get lots of instruction on western riding and riding cutting horses specifically. The traveler will learn how to assist with training, exercising, grooming, feeding, barn chores,and showing cutting horses in various competitions in Western Canada. Ideally the traveler will be between 19 and 24 years old. I compete in cutting horse shows in British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan with my horses. The work away person will also travel to the various shows in western Canada and get a chance to experience and see a variety of Western Canadian locations. Also included will be some farm chores and farm sitting. Generally the time commitment per day is about 4 hours and 4 - 5 days a week, Monday to Friday. Weekends are usually free and a rest time for the family. We like to learn from the work away people who come to our place and also willing to assist with language and culture difficulties. We also love to learn about the home country etc of the work away person. The small farm is located 15 km from town in a pleasant safe rural setting.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The host home is a classic log home structure with 4 bedrooms and two bathrooms, a den, kitchen, and living room. The traveler will have their own bedroom and bathroom. The work away traveler will be a part of the family and eat meals with the family, as well as participate in family events and celebrations. The farm occupies 6.3 hectars and has a large barn, indoor riding arena, outdoor riding arena and numerous corrals, as well as cattle.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Quesnel metro area has 20,000 plus people. It is a full service community with many recreation and culture events. The community is based on forestry, mining and agriculture. There are extensive indoor and outdoor recreational activities in spring, summer, fall, and winter. Cross country skiing, snow shoeing, and down hill skiing are close and relatively inexpensive. The host family has traveled extensively and likes learning about other countries and customs.
    Opportunities for regional travel and tourist exploration are available. Quesnel is served by a regional airport with daily flights to Vancouver. Bus service to points north and south is also available.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 661846775992