Join our family in restoring our century old home in Alquerubim, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • 148 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 27 may 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Our family of three, two small dogs and the cat, live on a property 20 minutes inland from Aveiro and just under an hour South of Porto.
    The house is over a hundred years old and is in need of restoring. Large iron gates need revitalising, windows and doors removed and sanded, walls cleaned and painted and hundred year old murals on ceilings and walls carefully cleaned and restored. The house was left empty for over 20 years and so is in need of some care.
    The garden needs to be constantly weeded and maintained in the summer months and tidied in winter.
    It is a great joy to to recover the beauty of the shutters and windows as well as the wooden floors as the original wood is hardwood and so is in good condition under the neglect.

    We are currently removing all the tiles from the barn and need an experienced carpenter, plumber, roofer, builder. Payment can be negotiated for workaways who have these skills.

    The beach (Barra) is about 25 minutes away by car.
    There are good walks in the countryside surrounding the property and the river is a ten minute walk.
    The house itself is on a country road, which is not too busy. There is a large garden at the back of the house.

    Music collaboration is also most welcome as this is a musical household.
    If you are interested in gardening, woodwork, restoring murals, sanding, painting, taking turns to cook and clean, playing card and board games and have an excellent work ethic then please think about joining us.
    Camper vans welcome.
    This is a no smoking property. Smokers are welcome to smoke but not on the property or inside the house.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Play musical instruments - guitar, drums, piano, bass, violin, sing
    Learn wet and needle felting and crochet
    Carpentry skills - working with tools
    Table tennis and Badmington

  • Ayuda


    Wood restoration of all windows, doors, ceilings and floors
    Gardening, landscaping and weeding
    Creating and maintaining a vegetable garden in the summer months
    Sanding and painting ceilings, walls, doors
    Cleaning and restoring 100 year old wall murals (paintings)
    Playing house - cleaning, dusting, mopping, sweeping, cooking
    A lot of the help is practical and physical and involves working with tools.
    Carpentry, painting and building skills especially welcome!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are learning to speak Portuguese

  • Alojamiento


    Own bedroom, shared bathroom
    Camper vans welcome
    Supper is cooked by host. Breakfast and lunch is provided on a help yourself basis.
    Cleaning roster

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The host is not able to provide transport for recreational activities but there is an uber service that comes to the house.
    There is also a bus that goes past the house from Aveiro.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Simon runs his business from home which is an online business and so we have ADSL uncapped. We welcome music collaboration as we have a small studio on the property. At the moment we mostly need people with plumbing, electrical, carpentry and building skills.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 661159742566

Comentarios (4)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

House and pet sitting in Oliveira do Hospital, Central Portugal
Collaborate on a project for an ecological farm near Tomar, land of the Templars, Portugal