We are looking for help on our own homestead and to live as sustainably as possible in Cape Breton Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canadá

29 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/12/2020

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our names are Michael and Leslie and our home is on a farm located in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. We are quite central between the towns of Whycocomagh, Inverness and Southwest Margaree, all 20-30 min drive away.
    We moved here the start of 2018 with the vision of starting our own homestead and to live as sustainably as possible. We work in forestry seasonally and are interested in wildlife habitat management as well.
    We have a large organically grown garden with hopes to expand this year.
    We also breed working dogs of which we have six! Spaniels, pointers and farm dogs. We currently have poultry and pigs.
    We are looking for individuals who are interested in gaining small scale farm experience in the garden and with livestock. Those with building and joinery skills would be very helpful to us however no experience is necessary. And this is the place if you are interested in dogs and training. Really someone open minded, not afraid to get dirty, comfortable with dogs and willing to learn new skills is ideal.
    Our accommodation is limited so one should be prepared for more of a camping set up. The original house is not liveable and we are working on it. We currently live in an outbuilding that has electricity and water.
    We are looking for help from July onward pending covid restrictions. We would like to limit people to two weeks at first and if it's working out, we can discuss a longer stay.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer the opportunity to learn basic farming skills, hopefully some insight on how to live within your means and of course unavoidable canine companionship. Michael is originally from the UK, while I, Leslie, am from another part of Canada. We are still discovering so much about this land, the culture and always trying new things.
    We hope the learning will go both ways. The exchange of knowledge and experiences is invaluable. We are constantly learning ourselves and appreciate different perspectives and ideas.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We expect maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week from our guests. This is very flexible though.
    Tasks include:
    -Gardening/weeding/pruning/harvesting
    -Help processing food for us - canning/drying/freezer prep
    -Livestock husbandry
    -Fencing
    -Building animal shelters
    -Dog care and walking
    -Trail clearing
    -Firewood
    -Help stripping old house
    -Meal prep and clean up

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We don’t have anything special on the property so I’m afraid it’ll be roughing it for the most part. We have a three-man tent, sleeping bag/extra blankets, and sleeping mat. If possible bring your own head torch/flashlight for the evenings. We live in an old outbuilding occupying one room. In there we have electricity and water for you to use. There is no hot water, we use the woodburning stove to heat it. In the summer we bathe in the river at the bottom of our driveway or the lake 5 min down the road. There is a laundromat in Inverness 20 min away. For bathroom facilities there is an outhouse. There is satellite internet and wifi however if you are an avid user, a data plan on your phone might be best as it is limited here. Good phone service.
    For food we will provide breakfast and dinner. Most of it will be homegrown. It will be a bit challenging to accommodate vegans as we love our eggs and dairy however not impossible.
    In the evenings we like to hang out, listen to music, do crafts (knitting/basketry), play boggle, have campfires and drink our homemade wine.
    Lastly, having your own car is highly recommended as there is no public transport and getting to town is not within walking distance. We can do our best to arrange pick up but we are limited. Also when you are not working with us, there is so much to see around Cape Breton that you shouldn’t miss out on.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our property connects to a large area of crown land with a network of forestry roads and trails, yours to explore. Locally, we have Lake Ainslie 5 min down the road, and the Southwest Margaree river at the base of the driveway, both great to swim and fish in. Also Egypt Falls, a well known waterfall, is a short drive or hike away. The ocean is a 20 min drive away as well as the famous Cabot Trail.
    Cape Breton is an exciting place to be. The incredible wildlife, scenic views, close knit community, and abundance of live music is what drew us here in the first place. It is internationally recognized as a tourist destination for a reason.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 659981413265