Cultural exchange and companionship helping with some simple household projects in Sacramento, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

143 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/03/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    With COVID-19 spiking we are requiring two week quarantine before staying at our home

    My husband and I are Sacramento Natives, The Farm to Fork Capital of the nation. My husband is a retired Life flight nurse and I am an Operating Room Technician. We are active and love to Mt bike, hike, ski, eat great food, grow food, as well as wine and beer taste. Sacramento is surrounded by vineyards, historical 49er history, lakes, rivers, mountains, and the sea.
    Sacramento is located at the base of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. We are only 2 hours from San Francisco and 2 hours from Lake Tahoe, we are 20 minutes from Sacramento International Airport. We have amazing craft beer and breweries abound and the wineries and vineyards just a stone's throw away. We live in a bicycle-friendly community where downtown is minutes away. We have cruisers (bicycles) to share.
    We could use some help with basic home maintenance, we have a very large veggie garden that needs some attention, weeding, watering and picking food for dinner!!
    I am an avid bread baker (sourdough) as well as canning preserving and cooking amazing meals to eat out in the garden.
    My husband has Parkinson's and needs occasional help with daily activities. He is 90% mostly self-reliant. He also knows all the best mountain biking trails, hiking trails and skiing trails in the Northern California and The Tahoe basin area.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers will benefit by learning about northern California, gold county history, wine tours, craft beer tours, the best coffee in the nation.
    There are lots of opportunities to be active in the Sacramento area, and there is a 70-mile bike trail that takes you to Folsom Lake. Folsom Lake offers swimming, paddle boarding, mountain biking, and an array of outdoor activities.
    Sacramento Valley is known for agriculture, farms, breweries as well as two major universities, UC Davis, Sacramento State. Both lovely campus with fun campus life activities.
    I also have a small sourdough business and will teach bread making if one is interested. We will use the bread for our breakfast lunch and dinners.
    We do live in the city, but we have a huge vegetable garden that we need help with maintaining.
    The following is a list of projects we will be doing, depending on the seasons.
    Bread making
    fermentation foods yogurt, cabbage, pickles, etc
    Preserving foods by canning and dehydration,
    Urban Gardening
    We enjoy music, craft beer, biking around town, and hanging out with our beautiful German Shepard dogs Aden and Helvetia. I Can teach Gardening, canning preserving food, as well as cooking and sharing food.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Gardening, basic home maintenance, companionship. Some shopping, food preparation, walking playing with dogs
    My husband has Parkinson, it was early onset. He has been living with it for 15 years and is very healthy, he is 90% mobile. He needs occasional help getting around the house and enjoys companionship during the day. Basic help my husband needs are assistance with simple household projects, painting, light construction, gardening, food prep, running errands together and light housekeeping. He enjoys walking and biking around downtown and on our bike trails.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a Small RV with bathroom and queen bed
    We have a finished basement/bedroom with a shared bathroom, in the upstairs. The bed is a queen futon bed and quite comfy.

    I will provide 5 days of food a week. Please provide your snacks and alcohol. We can cook together as well as entertain friends and family in our full back yard and garden. I like to share the kitchen experience. Cooking is a way to share our love and we want to share cooking culturally together. My kitchen is your kitchen.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are very laid back, we like to watch movies, listen to music. There are museums, parks, rivers,
    4 hours north of Yosemite
    We have a couple of bicycles available to use

    Summertime we have a pool for swimming

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a small space in the back of our yard that could house a campervan

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 654832228335