Share our experience of off-grid, sustainable living in the beautiful South Cumbrian hills, UK


Gran Bretaña

176 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    We very recently moved here 2018 so this project is at its beginning! We are living off grid and managing the land (hill side and woodland ) with livestock and using traditional land management methods and incorporating permaculture design.

    *** up date*** in January our home ( 2 yurts) burnt down we are busy and have lots to do. We are only seeking positive self motivated hard working people to help with our family. Accommodation is tent or other caravan if we get it done ( could be your project ) we are redeveloping the living space . Be willing to get stuck in to all aspects of living off grid. Will defiantly be involved in food preparation for all.
    Helloooo we are a family living up a hill South Cumbria (Beautiful views of Morecambe bay and Cumbrian hills)

    Our aims are to;
    Grow vegatables, look after the animals that are grazing the land (goats, sheep, fell pony and hens) make cheese, smoke meat, use wool, forage and harvest plant species seasonally. Caring for the land, bring people here to learn and share positive land based living.

    We are interested and keen in sharing this space with people who want to learn off grid living,

    * SUMMER -Water can be restricted so we are careful and very aware of water use... we are currently improving our water storage and rain water collection but currently if we experience dry summer showers can be limited to 2 a week as we only have a limited spring water supply. However you can bucket wash any time but not run the shower. When it's wet showers are not limited. It is wood fired though!

    **Please please only bring natural products to wash as all our water waste goes back into the earth and is somtimes used for watering out plants which we eat! **

    * WINTER / AUTUMN days solar power can be limited so are electrical use is on the low. We have facility's to charge electrical appliances but tend not to be on them much ( having so much fun on the land and enjoying are natural environment.) Our large yurt is the communal kitchen and sitting room / social space for work awayers and our family ..we ask smart phone , iPad, and computer use is not used at meal times and during social times in the yurt with the children. Occasionally is ok but it is not the norm here.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    An upland rough hill small holding has a unique place in Britain's small scale farming history. Watch storms pass over the Morecambe bay sands and hear them roar through the trees, care for the land and animals whatever the weather and enjoy the suns warmth as you lie in the heather.

    Learn animal care, veg growing and the effort, energy and enjoyment of living off grid , water awareness, fire starting and wood chopping, the care, attention and awareness for the space so it runs smoothly.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We really want people who are keen to be involved! We have a mixture of day to day home (cooking, cleaning, children and washing up), garden development, animal care, wood chopping (which has slight variations each season).
    Land/project work making and tending to garden, fencing, maintaining other structures, areas of land for events and projects. Building experience and being tool handy is great and really useful to us..... But equally if you are really keen and want to gain experience in these areas we are happy to take none experience as willing to learn and wanting to be positively involved in our land living is very welcome.

    Food is cooked communally and we expect people to be involved. We take 1 hour/ 1.5 hour off for lunch so a meal can be cooked/ prepared, eaten and enjoyed, kitchen can be wiped down and dishes washed before afternoon work begins.

    Expect some early mornings as animals are early risers :)
    Some days tasks will be alone so self motivation is key and other days will be us working together. Some days will be 4 hours but others 6 when we have a land project days and are focusing on specific project it all works out at 25 hours a week.

    As a family we don't really get the chance to go away much as we have animals to care for. We are very interested in having people come stay who can look after the animals and plants with care and attention so we can go away for holidays.

    Our reason for becoming involved in Work Away was to lift the work load and shaire it, to open this space to others and shaire our experience of living off grid or sustanible living which together myself and James have over 15 years experience.
    We are looking for people who have self motivation, an eye for seeing what needs to be done , if you have specific skills and interests and would like to bring them here we welcome this. We have A projects to do list and can always think of something ...but also welcome ideas and creative involvement. Art, photography etc

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    *Caravan - situated near our yurts. caravan facilities are 1 single 1 double bed and a wood burner., it has no gas . great access to hill views

    *Ravens barrow Yurt like structure- great for those who want a basic experience - 5 min walk from our spot. It's non insulated, with wood burner surrounded by beautiful trees, access is down a steep hill 15-20 ish meters. But it's beautiful spot. This site has no running water or electricity but spring water provided, basic compost toilet. ( We have electrical charging facilities at our spot) it's for 1 person or a visiting couple.

    During summer months we also have tents to stay in so you can wake up to the view!!! :)

    Most meals wil be communal.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are situated South lakes with Cumbrian hills and all its beautiful walking on the doorstep . There is a great local bus service running from Kendal to Barrow which is a 20/ 30 min walk to the bus stop from the hill, a train service from Grange over sands which gives access to the west coast, Lancashire and more. If you come by bike cartmel fell and Windermere are closeby there is endless hill walking :)
    We love to hear about peoples traveling experience and what they have learnt from other workaway or similar projects.
    We want to feel connected to our land understand it's needs so it does not become a relationship of take ( which so much modern industrial farming has become) create a space for people to come, learn skills, share knowledge and have space.
    **Are wish is for people to come here and help with our family /living space and have people who are passionate and have an interest in caring for animals and learning about land based living, to meet people and give positively to our environment through creative living. :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is park up space down the hill from the small holding however toilet and wash facilities are up the hill.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    As long as they don't bark constantly , poo in the veg beds or chase sheep, poultry should be fine, you are responsible for picking up poo and we have goats with horns who are territorial rather then run away MUST BE safe around children and not jump up at them however kind it my be intended.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 651931643611