Help me with sustainable tourism and agriculture in La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

72 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    56.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a costarican family who lives in a self-sustainable organic paradise. My name is Huber, I have worked in agriculture all my life. 11 years ago a health problem made me realize that the “traditional” way of producing food causes a lot of damage to ecosystems, to the people who produce it and also to those who consume it. So I decided to change our lifestyle to give an example and a better life to my family.
    Here we produce our food, and are trying to develop a sustainable tourism business with camping areas, cabins and guided tours of our farm. In general, we want to share our lifestyle and to try to inspire others to live healthy lives in harmony with nature.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a costarican family who lives in a self-sustainable organic paradise. In our farm we produce practically everything we need to live, respecting and protecting the environment and sharing our lifestyle with those who visit us. We dream of inspiring each visitor, so that more and more people are interested in the origin of the food they consume and consider how its production affects the environment.

    I've been a farmer my entire life, and love to share with people who are interested in learning to work the land to lead a healthier lifestyle.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are a family project, so there is always something to do around the farm. Sometimes we need help with the crops, making organic fertilizers, or cleaning trails; while other times we need more help answering emails and taking reservations for the tours we offer on the farm. We try to keep it fun and simple; and, as everything in our lives: balanced.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I only speak Spanish, but my sons are learning English and want to practice more.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have four rooms for rent in our farm. Workawayers will be given a private room with its own private bathroom. We also have a fully equipped kitchen which is shared with guests.
    Workawayers will prepare their own meals with the organic crops we produce in our farm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We're located in one of the most beautiful parts of Costa Rica, right next to Arenal Volcano.
    On their time off Workawayers can either chill in the farm, by the pool or do campfires. But also visit the many touristic -and not so touristic- natural wonders of the area such as hot springs, rivers, waterfalls, many hikes, zip lining tours, hanging bridges, etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We do have wifi at home; however, the speed is not amazing (5 mbps) and sometimes is a little unstable. Usually works fine to check emails, do blog posts and social media, but it's not that reliable for conference calls. We've been told optic fiber will be available soon on the area, we're waiting for it :)

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a big parking lot where a campervan or RV could be parked.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have two dogs in the farm. You're welcome to come with your pet as long as it gets along with other dogs and the rest of the animals in the farm (chickens, cows, and wildlife in general)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 636217597643