Help run our homestay, with some farming and pottery classes deep in the jungles of the Western Ghats, India

Country

India

287 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/01/2022

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a farmstay nestled deep in the jungles of the western ghats with a fresh flowing stream through the property in a very remote place on the border of Goa and Karnataka. There are plenty of wild animals around here also like sloth bears, leopards, bison (Indian Gaur is the largest bovine in the world), deer, wild dogs (dhols), wild boars, porocupine and even tigers occasionally in the area. It is the buffer zone of a Tiger reserve. We run our place without electricity except for a little solar power charging our battery. We have running water from the nearby waterfall and a very cozy place for guests to stay. We farm as much as we can but are always in need of help in both the hospitality side and faring side of our place. Sylvia is Indian and john is English (who has lived in India half of his life). We have 2 kids who come and go since they are away at boarding school. They are fun! Apart from cooking, farming and generally taking care of guests we also do plenty of trekking around the remote jungle tracks and Sylvia has a pottery studio on the farm. John runs white water rafting trips also during the monsoon months. The place is magical and is ideally for someone who wants remote wild forest and loves birds and wildlife and of course hospitality and farming. We can give you a little time off to go and let your hair down in Goa but generally it is a pristine wilderness experience in one of the worlds biodiversity hot spots.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Volunteers with us would learn about living off the land learn about living without any government supplied utilities like water, power, roads telecom infrastructure etc. Also you would learn about wildlife and wilderness and conservation, geography, responsible tourism, sustainable tourism, low impact eco friendly tourism perhaps even cooking and pottery. Mountain biking is another activity we try and run and the trails are quite extreme so if you like biking then you can really get into it here.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Volunteers would be utilised in many ways here. We draw on your skill set. Main tasks would be helping run the homestay, guest relations, trekking, ensuring systems are followed, helping in the kitchen also some farming, running pottery classes for beginners, helping with the pottery and wood firing of the kilns, possibly some maintenance and labor work.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accomodation would be a shared room or tent or a platform under the stars. Of course you will have bathroom and hot buckets of water when ever you want.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are plenty of things to see in the area. Dudhsagar falls are very close, mountain biking enthusiasts will find this place amazing, so time off biking is not a problem. New routes to find. Goa and its beaches and party lifestyle is just a short drive about 2.5 hrs away. There are vehicles going and coming regularly. We have a house there also which is also rented to guests so there may be some work to combine with a visit to the beach. The fun lifestyle of Goa will be a stark contrast to the incredibly peaceful and "retreat like" environment of our place. Diversity is the spice of life.
    Your hosts Sylvia and John and fun loving people and also very hard working. You will learn alot from them and they will also ensure you have time off. So dont be afraid to ask.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 629746185331