Helpers wanted on our small farm in Central Portugal.

Country

Portugal

4 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/05/2020

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi,
    We are Ann and Martin a retired couple from the UK, we made the decision to settle in this area of Portugal after spending 9 weeks doing workaway ourselves. We bought a property here with 5 acres of land after falling in love with the location and views, in hindsight a tad larger than we needed, hence needing a bit of help.😊

    When we arrived in 2015 the property comprised of a stone cottage attached to two large barns, extensive building work remodeling has taken place resulting in the stone cottage now being accommodation for visitors and volunteers. Although there is still cosmetic work to be completed, It includes a living area, bedrooms and a bathroom with basin, flushing WC and a power shower.
    The barns have been developed into a living and sleeping space for ourselves and family, at present our son Scott is staying with us. Also our three dogs Gina, Lily and Decksie and two cats Dusty and Suzie, as and when they feel fit to sleep indoors.
    Kitchen and cooking facilities are in the main building, all mod cons include sink with running water that comes from a natural spring. Oven, hob dishwasher and washing machine.

    During the time we have been here we have planted various fruit trees and grown vegetables on a small plot, our aim is to extend this.

    We feel now is the time to ask for that bit of help.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are situated within the area known for its twelve historical villages, the most famous of which being Monsanto. This is a rural area consisting of small villages and traditional homesteads. We are part of a large multi national community that, like us, have moved into the area and made this their home.

    We are surrounded by ancient castles, fortified villages, bridges and other historic monuments. The famous Montfortinho Spa is approximately 10 miles from us, just on the Spanish border.

    The Knights Templar head quarters in Tomar is well worth a visit,

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    * Expansion to the garden with the aim of becoming self sufficient in fruit and veg.

    * Working on the land, preparing and cleaning, planting, watering and harvesting fruit and veg.

    * Repair dilapidated dry stone walls and well.

    * Build an outdoor kitchen area on our flat roof (deck), with bread / pizza oven, this area will eventually be for
    entertaining.

    * Harvesting and pruning our 60 olive trees, this starts in November.

    * Destoning the land which is mainly clay and stone.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A self contained cottage with living area, bedrooms and bathroom.

    Large 4 birth tent.

    Alternatively, volunteers are welcome to bring their own motorhomes, caravans, tents, etc.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are situated between the historic village of Monsanto {said to be the the most Portugese village in Portugal) many of the houses are built into granite boulders and Penha Garcia {Geo Park) which boasts: a fossil walk including a old working water mill, registered climbing wall, a beautiful lake, picturesque area very popular for fishing, swimming and picnicking.

    Variety of activities in the surrounding area; rock climbing a few kilometers away, swimming and fishing in the local reservoirs and river beaches. Water skiing on the larger lakes. Further afield one can see the origins of the Templar Knights. And local festivals are held at very regular intervals.
    We are on a bus route which goes to Castello Branco

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 619958495758