Experience life with a kiwi family in Whataroa, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

88 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of four living in an ex-guesthouse (closed due to Covid-19) on the beautiful wild West Coast of New Zealand. We are located an hour south of Hokitika, and 30 minutes north of Franz Josef Glacier. If you love nature, hiking, fishing, hunting, exploring.. you’ll love it here!

    Our business is currently hibernating but we still really enjoy hosting the occasional helper or two as it's a big property and it is hard to keep up. We mostly enjoy the company! The jobs are all pretty straightforward like cleaning, organising, gardening, painting, stacking firewood, but if there is something in particular you'd like to learn (building fences, how to use power tools, how to split wood, how to use a chainsaw or weed-whacker.. baking.. breadmaking.. crochet.. sewing...?), please ask and we'll see what we can come up with.

    We are open-minded, enjoy the funnier side of life, one of us is very 'practical', and one of us is possibly more 'whimsical'.. we'll leave you to guess who is who.

    Our children are bright and quirky and love puns and and bad jokes. Don't ask the younger one about the Chernobyl Disaster unless you've got 45 minutes spare. He's really interested in Russia right now. He also loves gaming so be prepared for MarioCart or whatever is going on with the various consoles right now. The older child is a little different, very reserved, and won't talk to you at all for your first day here, but once she warms up she has the driest sense of humour ever and you might even be invited to visit the "loft" which is her private art space.

    Our 'helpers' become honorary family members and we will make you feel so welcome. We also love a really good debate over dinner. We love to learn, we respect everyone's beliefs and points of view even though we may not agree, and we're teaching the children that the world is not black and white.

    We live 10 minutes from the nearest town, so you will need your own car to make the most of the area. It is difficult to hitchhike at the moment as the roads are very quiet.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you want to experience life with a very relaxed rural kiwi family, we fit that bill! We’d like to take you hunting or fishing if time or weather allows. If you're not into that, we can lend you kayaks, give you advice on local attractions, or you can just recharge and chill in front of the fire or in our guest lounge with stunning mountain views. Many a morning yoga session has been held in there. We love meeting new people and exchanging stories and life experiences. Do you need a mum to give you a boost and some life advice? I can do that. Also, if you’ve been on the road, here is a peaceful place to stay, recharge, enjoy a hot shower and do your laundry.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We ask for about 3-4 hours work per day, five days per week, as well as participating in our family's normal daily housework (washing up, pegging out the laundry, meal prep etc). There is plenty of free time, and we like to arrange the work around your plans (for example, no work on a sunny day if you are planning a hike) and what kind of work you would prefer. I have a list where you can pick what you want to do, when you want to do it, and in what order. I am not the time police, we just generally try to balance your needs and our needs so everyone is happy.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We provide a private room and your own bathroom, wifi, and most of your food if you do not have any special dietary requirements. If you do have a specific diet (vegan/veg/allergies) you'll need to provide your own proteins and specialty foods. We can get some ingredients once we know more about you, and maybe you can teach us how to cook some good meat-free meals.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    15 hours per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 327299697264