Help restore a French flour mill and an organic vegetable garden in Aveyron, France

Country

Francia

actualizado  

267 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    22  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Nathalie is an interior architect, project manager and all round dreamer who could no longer be contained in a small terraced house in the London suburbs! She has jumped in at the deep end and taken the step to embrace French life in a Mill in the Tarn Gorges, Aveyron - a UNESCO area of outstanding natural beauty. Nathalie is developing the building to create a retreat centre, hosting week long creative (artist led) and holistic, spiritual wellbeing retreats. There will be a workshop space, as well as a seperate ceramics / artist's studio. She is a practising ceramic artist also. The flour mill dates back to before 1735. The refurbishment of the flour mill is being undertaken with respect to its heritage, and retains many of the original beautiful features. The aim is to be as self sufficient as possible. She needs help with refurbishment of the interiors of the building. Anything from cleaning down walls & old machinery, still lots of flour dust around. Help putting insulation in-between rafters. Treating areas for woodworm. Small carpentry jobs.(AND BIGGER CARPENTRY JOBS) Painting with lime wash, sanding & oiling floors. Any building skills a super bonus. Would be great if you are comfortable with power tools - including table saw. Outdoor jobs.. Moving wood, cutting wood. Stacking wood- wood jobs basically! Preparing area for vegetable patch. Planting bulbs. - digging jobs. Using petrol strimmer. Jet washing jobs. Walls/ patio etc. Organizational jobs.. - moving stuff around. Knowledge of drip hose irrigation system & River pump Any electrical & or hydroelectric engineering knowledge a super bonus! Help with designing / building a hen house, and chicken run. A large part of the plan is to reconnect the existing turbine & become self sustaining with hydro electrical power harnessing the river. And grown as much food here as possible. Simultaneously Nathalie is hosting 2 x Airbnb spaces whilst works are on going (different part of building)
    We will be a creative centre for the local residents as well as visitors fromma Cross the globe.. The neighbours & inhabitants of the village have been nothing but supportive & nurturing in assistance & positivity towards the project. If you have a passion for community / art / exchange / collaboration.. And feel you would like to part of The Project & add your own dynamic energy in helping to facilitate change & you also have an ethos built on trust, love, sharing & Community, and you have a skill set that you feel would be useful.. Then please get in contact!
    In the doorstep is the magnificent Millau Viaduct. Stunning landscape that will take your breathe away. Rambling climbing, parascending, rivers lakes & waterfalls for wild swimming. Millau is a vibrant town with market twice a week, bars restaurants & medieval streets & Towers. You will be in the heart of knights Templar territory here, so much history to explore!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travellers will benefit from living in an amazing building, in the nurturing landscape & along the banks of the River Cernon.The village is serviced buses and trains in & out of Millau. Nathalie hopes to inspire others to take the leap & follow their own dreams, by demonstrating what can be achieved if you trust & follow your own heart. Nathalie is currently learning French and hopes to practise both English & French with Volunteers. Volunteers will have free time and space to follow their own practice, be that pottery, painting & drawing, writing. Permits available locally to fish the river (river trout). Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, great for cyclists, walkers and runners. Visitors to date have all really enjoyed their time here!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our project so far has been built with the love & support of friends, family and, some local trades people, but mostly amazingly talented, generous & kind Workawayers! I have been totally blown away by how committed to helping & pushing the project forward that people have been, its been so utterly heartwarming. As well as moving the project forward, there has been the added bonus of beautiful friendships forming. Currently I am working on a ceramics project & need to focus most of my time working in the ceramics studio. . But But as I have some empty rooms I'm thinking perhaps I can still host some wonderful workawayers if you are happy to work independently? Or perhaps with another workawayer, with not the usual amount of imput from myself during the day. I've included a (pretty extensive list of works below, to give you some idea of skills level required. I trust you to be honest in your capabilities! This is a project that needs a engaged, energetic, high vibration people.
    I'm looking for someone (or a couple) or perhaps 2 individuals? With following skills, experience in using a small tractor, can confidentially use a chain saw fo cutting logs, an axe for chopping & organising wood for the winter. Some one that has skills & is competent at using power tools in a safe way. Good at cleaning, daily chores etc.
    Current jobs that Nathalie needs help with doing:
    *chopping wood
    * creating concrete slab for outdoor shower, bath & sink area.
    *Laying crazy paving
    * building outdoor shower area walls with reclaimed ripple tin, and treated timbers.
    *pulling first fix electrical cables
    *putting up exterior lighting

    * insulating & plasterboard ing between rafters & tape & joining as required.
    *Digging up & Moving baby beech trees to new position
    *building raised beds with reclaimed wood.
    * pulling up weeds & tilling the earth with mini tractor.
    *sanding floors
    *changing out old floorboards
    * linseed oiling floors
    *Installing curtain poles
    * making curtains with sewing machine
    and any other skills you wish to offer.
    *occasional cooking.
    *installing some exterior insulation to underside of an internal floor.
    *jet washing exterior walls
    * converting wooden flour silos into mezzanine bed decks. Creating self-contained apartment within the main Mill building 2nd. First fix plumbing insitu
    * creating 2 bedrooms & concrete floor. On ground floor

    If you're a community spirited, hands on person and want to escape the city, and be inspired to instigate change in your own life, this is the place for you! Look forward to hearing from you

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is offered in various rooms. Some rooms maybe shared with other Workawayers (same gender) . This will be agreed in advance. There are currently 4 bathrooms which guests can use. Nathalie will happily prepare 2 meals a day. And happy to offer cooking lessons!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Two days free time per 7 days are given for exploring the beautiful surroundings. The ancient town of Millau is close by, accessible by train/ bus and the surrounding scenery is wonderful for walks. Great views.Nice spaces to relax & chill out by the river here also.znd when it's warm enough the river is lovely for a dip under the waterfall at the end of the garden

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have plenty of parking & happy to host van life peeps!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Only if in their own van/ camper etc

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (4.7)
















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 587551535389