Help out on our 9 acre property, on the banks of the Blackwood River near Nannup, Australia



20 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    We are 3 friends, Boo, Cate and Gayle. We have an 8 month old boxer dog called Bodhi and a 2 year old Collie called Georgie. We live on a 9 acre property near Nannup, on the banks of the Blackwood River. We love nature and the outdoors, we are high vibe people who surround ourselves only with positive, like-minded people. We enjoy a drink from time to time, but we are not party people. We love coffee, our dogs, good food, camping, sports and socialising with friends. We live in the bush, surrounded by trees with lots of wildlife and birds. It's a very tranquil and beautiful place to live with an amazing community. We love it here, and are very grateful to live in such an amazing place.

    We need help around the property, most of which will be outside maintaining fire breaks and managing the fuel load prior to, and throughout summer. There's also some other general maintenance and cleaning, and there may be some projects to do as well.

    We are looking for a minimum one week commitment. After then, if it’s working well for all of us, there’s the possibility to stay longer.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will learn how to maintain a 9 acre property and prepare for the fire season in the hot, dry summer. You’ll learn how to care for chooks and of course, you’ll get fresh eggs. You may have the opportunity to learn about bee-keeping and get a bee suit on, when our Beekeeper comes round to maintain the hive. There may be some free honey too. I can show you how to build a water-wise wicking bed, which seldom requires watering in the summer and can use the grey water from the washing machine. We may even build another one together.

    You will learn about what it takes to live in the bush in Australia, how to be water-wise and energy-efficient. We are on rainwater only and off-grid, our power comes from a sophisticated solar system. You will learn about bushfires and action plans. How to maintain fire-breaks and manage fuel loads.

    I will teach you what I know about the local flora and fauna, which is abundant here. We have many beautiful birds and wildlife on the property, some of which are endangered. We have wildlife carers in the area whom I may be able to put you in touch with to see some tame roos and birds of prey. We live on the banks of the Blackwood River, with many permanent water holes we can swim in throughout the summer.

    You will enjoy being part of this beautiful community and experience true Aussie mateship and hospitality. The people here are really amazing and always willing to help each other out. I will introduce you to my friends and take you to events and gatherings in our community when they arise. If you play the guitar, uke, percussion or enjoy singing, you can join us for a weekly jam at the fire shed. There are often drinks down there with some of the locals too. I may be able to help you with some work on people’s properties and/or in town in the various cafe’s etc.

    It’s a beautiful part of the world here, we are very grateful to live in such a tranquil and beautiful place with an amazing community. You will have the chance to experience all of this.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    The majority of the work will be raking leaves and managing the fuel load through the summer. We will do small burn-offs together (season permitting).

    Other jobs will include weeding, lawn-mowing, watering plants, caring for the chooks, window-cleaning, removing cobwebs from the verandah, house cleaning, possibly some cooking when friends come over, maybe some dog walking/sitting and any other general maintenance tasks and projects that arise.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I’d love to improve my German.

  • Alojamiento


    You can stay in your campervan/caravan if you are fully self-contained. Otherwise, you will be staying in a rustic cabin, it’s not fancy, but it has everything you need to live comfortably. There’s a lovely fully enclosed verandah which I’m sure is where you will spend most of your time when the weather is warm enough. It’s fully enclosed with fly screens, so the mozzies and march flies won’t get you. There’s a daybed and plenty of comfy seating and beanbags outside to chill out on. Theres a small dining table and a bbq which you can use. There’s a pot belly stove on the verandah which you can light, season permitting. Our evenings can be quite cool here.

    Please be aware, there's no wi-fi at the cabin. You will need your own 4G, we have a good signal with a tower nearby. You can use the wi-fi at the house on occasion, if you're stuck out.

    There’s a fully equipped kitchen with a gas stove and oven, fridge/freezer, microwave and crockery, cutlery, pots/pans etc.

    There’s a toilet and bathroom with a nice hot shower and a washing machine for your use also.

    There’s a comfy double bed in the bedroom, with a patio door looking out into the bush. There’s a wardrobe and plenty of drawers for storage and clothes. There’s also another small room with a bed and a clothes rail, which could be used too.

    The lounge has a large TV and plenty of comfy sofas to chill out on and of course, the pot belly stove which you can use, season permitting.

    You will be surrounded by nature whichever way you look and will enjoy sitting on the verandah watching the birds, lizards and roos doing their thing.

    You will be responsible for your own food. You’ll have a pantry and a fridge-freezer. We will cook one meal a week for you to share with us. There may be other bbq’s at times and drinks/coffee on occasions too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are looking for happy, high-vibe people only. We live in beautiful surroundings in the bush and like to keep the vibe high, there’s so much to be grateful for.

    We are looking for like-minded individuals, who enjoy nature and the outdoors, friendship, new experiences and embracing country life. You should be happy to work outside and get your hands dirty.

    We don’t ask much, other than you treat us and the property with respect, no loud parties, we have neighbours! Please keep the cabin clean and tidy and leave it as you found it.

    We are located 24kms outside of Nannup which is the nearest town. A car is absolutely essential here. The town of Nannup is a lovely, very quaint little town. It has 3 cafes, serving different types of food, we have a favourite we go to each week with friends, there's also a lovely, specialist tea shop. There is a pub and a new brewery is opening soon, which we are all very excited about. There’s a small convenience store selling food, produce and general household items. There is a very good pizza place and a fish and chip shop. There are many art galleries and gift shops for you to wander round.

    Our area is best known for the local wineries, mountain bike trails and art. We have many annual bike races, a flower festival and a music festival. We are on the banks of the Blackwood River which is the longest river in the SW of Australia. There is a fortnightly market, where you can buy spray free veggies and various other foods and things made by local people. There are plenty of local attractions to see. Busselton and Margaret River are the nearest larger towns, famous for surfing, wineries, the longest jetty in the Southern Hemisphere, caves and lighthouses. Those are the main attractions, but there is so much other good stuff to see and do. Both towns are equidistant, about 54km away, an hour give or take. There’s plenty of supermarkets and farmer’s markets to go to, when you need to do a bigger food shop. Both towns are great, with so much to see and do and some of the best beaches in the country are close by.

    We enjoy anything to do with the outdoors. Walking the dogs who get walked twice a day on the trails surrounding the property. 4x4-ing on the beach and surrounding trails. Taking camping trips. We have a kayak you can use and a mountain bike to enjoy the many trails around the property. We swim in the waterholes in the summer and there’s tractor tyres you can float around on. We like camp oven cooking on the fire and drinks around the fire-pit. I enjoy drinking coffee, I’m a coffee snob and not ashamed to admit it! I meet with friends at the weekend for coffee and cake in the local coffee shop which do a really good coffee, you will be welcome to join. We like music, playing the guitar and listening to tunes. I’m also a big rugby fan, so I enjoy watching the games on TV during the season and can explain the rules if you’re keen to watch a game.

    We have travelled the country a great deal. I spent a year in a 4x4 campervan with my dog, doing a big lap which was an amazing experience. I would be happy to share my knowledge and experience with you. I did workaway when I travelled and made many friends and had a really great experience. So now it’s my turn to give people a great experience too. We’re looking forward to meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds, exchanging stories around the fire, with a drink and sharing our culture and our beautiful property here in Nannup.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We are on a 9 acre property with a turning circle at the end, so we can accomodate large buses/caravans.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We will accept dogs as long as they’re not aggressive with people or other dogs, not destructive and not constantly barking. We also ask that you provide proof of vaccination, as we have many dogs living in our area.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2-3 hours per week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 583323345259