actualizado  

Help on a Remote Homestead in Alaska, USA

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi Folks, we are Vanessa and Amanda, two sisters who are working together on our family Homestead in Alaska. Our land was established by our grandparents in the 1960's when they came to Alaska with their four young kids to live the pioneer life. This homestead is in a remote location near Denali State Park along the Alaska railroad-which is the only means of transportation to and from the nearest town. During the summer season the trains run five days per week, so, though isolated, there are many opportunities for volunteers to go to town by train and explore the nearby attractions. The unique situation of this homestead is the fact that the property itself is a tourist attraction for folks who are exploring Alaska by railroad. It is a historic site in full view of the trains as they go by, and in the past they have been known to stop to let people off to buy the books our grandmother has written that give an account of her experiences as a homesteader and mother in the 1960's and 70's. Nowadays, our grandparents no longer live or spend much time at the homestead since they need to be under the full time care of our aunt. This year we plan to bring the tourist attraction back to life by creating a valuable experience for folks who want to get off the train and tour the historic site.
    The 2024 season will be full of big changes and new projects, and we hope you are willing to come be a part of the story as it unfolds!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learning opportunities include growing a garden and establishing perennials in the Alaskan climate, living as a modern homesteader in a remote location, creating value added farm products, food preservation, cooking on an antique wood cook stove, and becoming comfortable and confident in the wilderness setting.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We will be needing help with general maintenance and upkeep of the property. These tasks include cutting down trees, clearing brush, hauling logs, driving tractors, chopping firewood, and mowing the grass. There will also be a vegetable garden to take care of, and some perennials that will need to be transplanted. Folks who have some experience with permaculture are especially welcome!
    In addition to the gardening and landscaping roles, we are also looking for folks who have basic knowledge and some experience in carpentry and small engine repair to help us keep the buildings and equipment in good working condition.
    Since this is an agri tourism business there will also be a good amount of interaction with the clientele. We are looking for someone who is outgoing and willing to share part of their day with folks who take a genuine interest in homesteading work!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Options for accommodation vary depending on the time of the season and the number of people on site at any given time. For those who prefer to have their own space, we can put you up in a tent with an air mattress close by to the house and facilities. If you are happy to share a room with others from time to time, the upstairs of the house is available as a common sleeping area. We will also be building platforms for canvas tents that can serve as accommodation for volunteers, but since we need help building them they might not be finished by the beginning of the season.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This homestead is in a remote location on the Alaska Railroad- our closest neighbors are a mile away. We are a drug and alcohol free homestead. The nearest town is Talkeetna and it's about an hour and a half by train. Talkeetna is one of the major tourist hubs in Alaska, with a vibrant restaurant scene, night life, and sightseeing opportunities. From Talkeetna, the drive to Denali State Park isn't far where there are plentiful hiking trails for those who love to explore the great outdoors. For the right candidate, we may be able to provide a vehicle to go exploring on days off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Happy to welcome folks with dogs who are good with other dogs and children.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    varies from day to day

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 581291286295

Comentarios (1)

Comentarios


Help a family with a little gardening and enjoy backyard paradise in Simi Valley, USA
Join us at our eco-homestead and forest near Oregon City, USA