Organic farm in the Chianti hills, 30km from Florence

Country

Italia

actualizado  

1231 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/09/2022

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there!
    My name is Nic and if you happen to be a positive interesting, adventurous, open minded, kind, chilled enough as much as active, independent, easy going but socially and environmentally conscious and aware, organized and tidy person, willing to share some time, stories and getting your hands a little dirty helping me out in my farm in the Chianti Area, Tuscany, I might be your possible future host…

    I’ve been, and still am, an extensive traveler myself and, especially in my 20ies I did a lot of farmstay/work exchange too (Workaway didn’t exist back then).
    So when I started my own “country life adventure”, it just made perfect sense to me to join Workaway and host some of you enthusiast backpackers and travelers as much as other hosts around the world did with me when it was my turn to live in a backpack…

    So, a little about me and your future temporary home:
    A few years back, I decided to leave my job in Milan (I was working in the music industry in my previous life) and commit my time and efforts to the restoration of a family property in the countryside just out of Florence. I’ve been living here taking care of the land and the property on my own ever since. Well…kind of - I have a feline lazy helper, his name is Rosso (red) and he’s the typical cheeky, funny red cat...
    The land consists of about 10 hectares mainly (organically) farmed with olive groves, saffron and aromatics
    The olive groves have been almost completely abandoned for about 30 years when I decided to take over; I had little experience, no tools and not much money to rebuild the farming activity from scratch. So I tried to run for a European Founding project (as a "new entrepreneur in agricolture") and got financed for a few investments that allowed me to start the renovation process and put the olive oil production back to its potentials.
    Still a (big!) work in progress but…getting there. Maybe with your help?!.
    The house is a nice and cozy 15th century traditional Tuscan country villa in the chianti hills between Florence and Siena.

    . What do I offer:
    Accommodation, meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner), a cozy and comfortable house, a spoilt cat to pat that will bring you beheaded bunnies and other nice gifts, some amazing views and glorious sunsets and hopefully some interesting chats in front of a glass of wine…so:
    - two double bedrooms (double beds that can be split up into two single beds) each with its own bathroom.
    - a little living room to be shared by the two rooms’ occupants
    - your own little garden with a table under a gazebo
    - healthy vegetarian and tasty meals. No kitchen at your real disposal, as it serves as a lab for the farm preparations too. Of course you can prepare yourself a little snack or a cup of tea etc but basically I take care of the kitchen so please don’t expect to store your own full shopping as it will be difficult for me to arrange spaces…On the other hand, I’m a rather good cook and although I tend to like simple traditional food (and vegetarian), I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. Special dietary requirements can be taken care of too (celiac, intolerances…) just specify that when we first get in touch and we’ll see what can be done. Of course a few glasses of wine to go with our dinner would be provided too!

    . Other things to know about the house/area
    Although there’s a little (tiny!) town that can be reached with a 10 min walk (with a basic grocery shop, a cafe, post office, an atm and that’s about it), we live in the countryside! So unless you have your own car, don’t expect to be able to get out and about that easily…
    I will be more then happy to give you a lift to the closest train station (15 min drive away) every now and then or even explore the area with you but I won’t feel that as an obligation since my life here is pretty busy…
    By the way, the train easily connects you to Florence, Siena (both 40 min), Pisa (1 hr) and I guess all of Italy!

    . What do I expect:
    - “human wise”
    I know I’m repeating a long list but: tidy, organized, independent, positive, open minded, interesting, adventurous, kind, chilled enough as much as active, easy going but socially and environmentally conscious and aware, people.
    - Work wise:
    People happy to share an experience and not just “passing by” or looking for a short term accommodation fix. In fact, given the first days where everyone is left free to evaluate if the situation (reciprocally) match the expectations, I ask you to give full availability for the entire period. It’s in fact hard to rearrange the work and house/group rhythms in the middle of a season… so, given this:
    I normally split the workaway availability in two periods...
    - The olive picking (shorter stay) which normally starts mid october and lasts throughout November/beginning of December
    - The summer activity (longer stay, 2 months+...) which normally runs from February/March until September/October
    Given the 5 hours per day Workaway basis, expected working hours differ from the two periods.
    - For the summer period, it’s the standard 5hrs per day. More likely less then that and you’ll be taking care of little easy maintenance inside and/or outside the house.
    - For the Olive harvest, being that in autumn (rain!) and with olives needed to be harvested in the shortest time possible, whenever the wether allows, we work full days (8 hrs) and rest on rainy days (day off). If for some weird circumstances it will never rain (it doesn’t happen but…you know, climate change!) that means we’ll finish much earlier then end of November and you’ll be free to happily enjoy the rest of a stay as a complete holiday. So, in the end, it works out the same standard Workaway 5hrs per day in all cases, just spread out differently. Even though working days are 8 hrs long, the work is not heavy and it consists of assisting me during the day while I do most of the harvesting work and helping me at the end of the day to load the crates full of olives. That is lifting some 15/20 crates of olives - 20 kg each (easy if two people, one handle each)

    So…
    If you're keen discovering a wonderful part of Italy in its truest traditions, in a lovely and lively rural setting which stands only a few pretty well serviced kms away from Florence and Siena, counting on a comfortable and strategic home base, if you are willing to be a happy and functional part of this funny bunch normally counting on me, my cat and a few friends/guests popping in and out and to share some of your time, work, interesting chats and overall life experiences in front of a glass of wine and more over and, let me stress this out again, if you are an open minded, active, clean, organized, responsible type of person then hit me up for more details and let's make this happen!. Hi

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will do our best to transmit to you the strong sense of connection we feel with our land which clearly manifests in the way we farm it, in our cuisine, in the way receive our guests, in our love for the traditions and our sometimes experimental and open minded approach...

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Summer: longer stay (Feb/March-September)
    tasks can go from general gardening (planting, picking, pruning, cleaning, mowing) and exteriors maintenance (pool etc) to helping in the fields (weeding, harvesting veggies/fruit/lavender).
    An “agriturismo “ activity insists on the property too, in a different villa next to the one I live in and where I provide Workaway accommodation. Beside the land, I manage this activity too, with some employees that take care of the guests-related activities.
    To be noted that guests choose our villa over a hotel in the heart of Florence for their holiday also because it guarantees peace and privacy and we expect you to respect this.

    Olive picking: shorter stay (October-November)
    Olive picking is a simple, stress releasing, peaceful activity. It's normally done during the months of October and November depending on the season (you should consider arriving around mid October and prepare to stay for up to a month or so) and it basically consists in "combing" the olive tree.
    Long nets are first layed down around the trees then with the help of a little plastic comb-alike tool passed through the branches, the olives fall onto the nets. The same happens by using other mechanical means which mimic the manual "combs". The olives are then collected and put into crates.
    At the end of the day all the crates go on the tractor which will then take them to the press.
    Volounteers are more then welcome to come to the social press, it's a fun day and you'll taste the best bruschetta you've ever tried!!!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in an independent and comfortable dependence part of the same villa where I live.
    2 double bedrooms (each with a double bed that can be pulled apart into two singles) with ensuite bathroom. An independent living room. Internet connection speed may vary, again its a rural property.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The villa is set in a stunning location over the chianti hills. being 30 mins from Florence and Siena, only 20 to San Gimignano etc, you'll be sitting right in the heart of Tuscany with much to discover and enjoy nearby. Art cities, hot thermal springs, wine tours...


    One advice: you'll want to rent a car to fully enjoy the area (even though basic shopping can be done within a 15 mins walk through the fields!).
    One reccomendation: only clean, polite, respectful of each-anyotherthing, independant and responsible, well awake, easy going and open minded people with curiousity and interests willing to share an experience and not just an accomodation!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 577362719689