Permaculture and garden forest project on the land of a National Geographic photographer based in Palmela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

226 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    65.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Matthieu. I have been a freelance photographer for 20 years, and an active National Geographic photographer for the last 10 years. My wife (she is German, we met in Indonesia) and I recently bought a beautiful land near Palmela, overlooking a valley called Vale dos Barris. During confinement, we improved the land with a connection to our 2 springs, permaculture vegetable garden, water tank made from an old wash bassin etc. We have olive and pomegranate trees and lots of bamboos. The land is a 12 minutes drive from where we live.

    Please note:
    - as it takes a couple of days to get familiarise with the project/land, it's nice to have people for a minimum of 2 weeks.

    We are now especially looking for someone that has some basic expertise in WOOD WORK, carpentry etc... as we plan to build a small outdoor kitchen etc (in February/march).

    Lately we have been working on the design and implementation of the forest garden on the lower part of land that comprises of 12 terraces and a couple of pond system. So far, we have planted fruits trees, endemic species, vines etc. Now we are focusing on setting up the pond system, finishing the swales with wild cuttings and seeds etc. We have a permaculture specialist, Joaquim, who help direct the project. This experience is a great opportunity to learn about food forest and permaculture. Be warned that you must like physical work (we use garden hoes, wheelbarrows full of earth etc) and getting your hands muddy and please don't be shy to join in cooking, organize life at home etc. Driver license would be a great add-on!

    So you must like physical work and be pro-active about it.

    Among other things we need to:
    - dig/set up a pond system
    - install the water irrigation drip system for the forest garden
    - make outdoor kitchen and shower area


    We have 2 boys, Timo (9) and iluka (14). Both our kids are born on the road (one in Hong Kong, the other in Istanbul) and speak German, French, English and Portuguese. Our boys are home-schooled. We are a truly multicultural family, love sharing our travels (we have been to most countries in Asia) and we have been living since 3 years inside the Arrabida Nature Park, just 35mn south of Lisbon.

    ____

    More specific info on the project implemented so far:
    We are implementing an agroforestry system based on the principles of syntropic agriculture (Ernst Gotsch). It will be an area where we planted over 60 fruit trees stratified with trees and forest bushes. We planted additional plants, cuttings and seeds in the swales. Occupying from the emerging stratum to the very dense low stratum. As we are integrated in a natural park, we implement only native and naturalized species, which is quite unique.
    In a more degraded and inclined area we will make channels following contour lines (called Swales) for direct sowing of trees and shrubs.
    We will have Joaquim, who will help direct the project. He has already implemented projects in permaculture and syntropic agriculture in the Mediterranean climate with endemic and native species. This experience will be a great opportunity to learn about syntropic agriculture in the Mediterranean context and permaculture.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have travel the world for the last 20 years and look forward to hearing about your life, and introduce you to the local markets, area etc. We are passionate about good food, music and world culture.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - wood work / carpentry
    - help work on design of pond and water system, digging terraces etc
    - Help with occasional cooking (we love cooking!), shopping etc
    - general housekeeping and basic building

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You either stay with us at our home or in our van (electricity, water, kitchen, all wood covered), near our house, about 12 minutes drive from our home.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are inside the Arrabida Nature Park, so it's a perfect place if you like nature.
    It's an exchange: we are excited to host you , and should you come with a respectful and positive attitude to help us and take part in the activities. We are looking forward to it! :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 571756146944