Help on our hobby farm on the Isle of Anglesey, Wales, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, my name is Anna, I’m 37 and come from Wales.

    I had my first child, Edwyn, in October 2020. He’s a real ray of sunshine and makes us laugh every day. I love seeing the world from his perspective. Edwyn’s Dad, my partner Aled, is 34. He’s a geologist by profession, but growing up as a farmer he has returned to it and is now developing his own potato growing business.

    We live on a small hobby farm which I bought with my parents in 2007. They live in the farmhouse and we live in the barn which we converted. The farm was completely derelict when we bought it and is still a work in progress as we continue to renovate the place, but it is the ideal setting for our stud of Welsh Cobs (native horses) which we have bred since my parents were young. The stud is a hobby that you could say has got out of hand....but is definitely not a business as most Welsh Cob owners will testify 😂 we do it purely for the love of the breed and the animals.

    On the farm we also have 8 dogs, a cat and some chickens.

    I have my own business as a Chartered Surveyor and am also growing another online business.

    We are not a business here at home and are not asking for help with any of our business activities.

    The welsh cob stud is a lifelong interest and does not operate as a business or make any profit.

    As a family we are friendly and kind. We believe in treating/respecting people as we would wish to be treated/respected ourselves. We also tend to “work hard, play hard”. We like to be cheerful with a positive and happy outlook as much as possible.

    As well as the horses we enjoy other interests when we have the opportunity and are always pleased to meet new people and learn new things. I like travelling, various water sports, snowboarding and various exercises including yoga. I also like to practice mindfulness and believe in positive evolution.

    At home we speak mostly English and occasionally Welsh. I have two brothers and one sister and occasionally they will visit the farm with their families.

    We would love to welcome workaway volunteers here to help around the farm. It’s in a lovely rural setting on the Welsh Island of Anglesey. The farm has stables and 20acres of land as well as a lake.

    We are just a five minute drive, (45min walk or 20mim bike ride) from some of the best beaches in North Wales. The nearest being the old fishing village of Rhosneigr which is now famous for kitesurfing, as well as other water sports. There are also some lovely restaurants/bars and a few little shops here. In Rhosneigr there is a train station which connects to the main railway network for the UK.

    From our farm we have beautiful sunsets and in the morning the sunrises over the Snowdonia mountain range which you can see in the distance. Snowdon is the highest mountain in Wales and there is a stunning National Park which is just a half hour drive from us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living and working alongside a multi generational Welsh family, travellers will no doubt be treated to various stories. They will see traditional and new techniques used around the farm including dry stone walling and Welsh cake making, and will hear and see day to day life on a “Welsh Cob” stud farm. If they are interested they can also learn about various aspects of farming.

    We would also be pleased to share with guests “locals” information for the best beauty spots to visit e.g. beaches and mountains, and also tips on local towns and cities worth visiting and how to get there.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are various tasks around the farm which we can show volunteers how to do. These may include:
    General grounds maintenance
    Painting
    Fencing repairs
    Stone wall repairs
    Feeding the dogs
    Feeding the horses
    Training/riding the horses (depending on experience)
    Cleaning/Tidying/Laundry
    Cooking
    Labouring

    We really appreciate visitors who are self motivated and are happy to just get involved and be stuck in as part of the family, using their initiative to do jobs that need doing or suggest things they can do to help.

    Most of the help will probably be outdoors based. Any prior experience of building and grounds maintenance would be great but is not essential.

    Occasionally you may be asked to help my Mum look after our son Edwyn, but you'll never have to look after him on your own.

    We are not a business here at home and are not asking for help with any of our business activities.

    The welsh cob stud is a lifelong interest and does not operate as a business or make any profit.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Welsh: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    On our farm we have a static caravan in which volunteers will have their own private space. This is clean and well appointed so that you will be comfortable. Including a double bedroom, shower room/toilet, kitchen inc oven, fridge/freezer, microwave and sink, and lounge with TV/DVD, unlimited mobile internet. There is also a private decking outside with immediate views over the fields and mountains.

    We would welcome volunteers to join either myself and Aled, or my parents, for lunch and evening meals and will stock the caravan with some basic supplies for breakfast/snacks. We eat all foods including meat, dairy and vegetables etc. Some of the vegetables are home grown. If travellers have specific dietary requirements or allergies then we kindly ask that they prepare their own meals (they are welcome to use our ingredients) but are of course welcome to join the family to eat around the dinner table.

    We will also be around and about working on the farm/in the house and will enjoy getting to know travellers and vice versa.

    My parents are older and hard of hearing. They are not being “rude” if they don’t respond or can’t understand an accent.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Travellers can easily drive, walk, bike or catch a taxi to the nearest village where they can catch a bus to the nearest town or larger train station.. Also in nearby Holyhead travellers could go as a foot passenger or take a car, on the Ferry to Dublin in Ireland should they want a long day out. They can also catch a train from nearby Rhosneigr to connect to the main network. It is possible that we may be able to drop people off/collect locally, but this cannot be guaranteed.
    There are plenty of things to do locally if travellers like the outdoors. This includes visits to the beach, Watersports hire and lessons, visits to the Snowdonia National park, walking the Welsh coastal path, horse riding, south stack lighthouse etc. There are also some of the best extreme tourist attractions in the UK all within an hours reach, including “Bounce below”, “Zipworld” and “Surf Snowdonia”. Even if you’re not into touristy things these are good fun.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Digital nomads are welcome, having occasionally been one myself. You have unlimited mobile data provided in the caravan, and we have unlimited internet in the house which you're welcome to use, however this can be a little unreliable being in a rural area and having thick stone walls !

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    A camper van can be parked but we can’t guarantee an electric supply to it.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day , 5 days a week.



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 571382526838