Olive help for English couple living in splendid isolation in deepest Andalucía, Spain

Country

España

65 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/08/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an English couple living in splendid isolation in deepest Andalucía, about 45kms south west of Granada on the top of a mountain, at 1044m. We also speak French if that helps. We have about 250 olive trees currently cultivated, which will need picking from around Christmas time. This is done the old-fashioned way, by hand. It's a slow no pressure method and is very in tune with the natural surroundings and our totally organic methods. We have more trees that need pruning and generally improving to bring into production. Our local village is about 5km away with most facilities. We are looking for two people or a couple who would have their own accommodation in a newly built small house, with wood burner. kitchen, shower and composting toilet. There is flush toilet, available in our house. We will provide all food, but would welcome being treated to the occasional cooked meal. We would prefer people to stay for at least two weeks, if possible. We live off-grid, producing our own electricity and hot water and have our own well for water, so respect for the environment and resources is important. There is limited satellite internet - fine for emails, but not available for streaming or downloading. We have 2 rescue dogs and a cat, so would appreciate someone who enjoys walking as well as working.
    Winters here are mixed, sometimes blue skies and sunshine and sometimes grey and cold, so, as well as suitable footwear, layered clothing would be best.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living off-grid and learning to respect the environment could offer an interesting new perspective to many workawayers and tackling olive-farming using traditional methods could be fun! We live in very rural Andalucía in an area with very few expats, so you can immerse yourself in local culture and enjoy the beautiful unspoilt countryside with it's lakes and mountains - seen on foot or on horseback. We are also not that far from the magnificent city of Granada, with it's many historic buildings, including of course the Alhambra Palace. (Booking tickets up to 2-months in advance is essential for the Nasrid Palace and Generalife).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main work would be olive-picking - done by hand - but also preparatory weeding and pruning . Nets are placed under the trees and the olives are picked to fall and be collected from the ground, into tubs before bagging into sacks. Some tree climbing is necessary. Our 2 rescue dogs love to go for walks and there are lots of tracks around our plot. Sadly, it is also a hunting area, but this is restricted and so far has not been too big an issue for us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Self-contained small house with wood-burning stove and kitchen, shower and composting toilet. A flush toilet is available in the main house. Either a double bed or two single beds. Food provided. The option to cook for us would be welcome too on some occasions.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The village is 5km away, Granada 45 minutes by car, although a bus service does exist. nearest beaches about 1.5 hours away. Lake Bermejales and Alhama de Granada are close by offering lake sports and cafes/bars restaurants.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 567143694422