Help a retired teacher with basic DIY and some de-cluttering in London, UK


Gran Bretaña

161 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 25 dias


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

  • Descripción


    Afro-Caribbean Friend, retired teacher, debilitated by M.E./Chronic fatigue Syndrome seeking a little help with cleaning, de-cluttering and handyperson tasks. (DOES NOT require night time presence or any help with personal care, ironing, cooking, shopping or kombucha brewing.) I am a retired Primary School Teacher and Child and Family Therapist. Liberal, free thinker, and enjoy books and theatre. I suffer from chronic fatigue which often leaves me unable to perform ordinary household tasks and with a very cluttered house.

    Offering cultural exchange and free accommodation in own room in a well-located Victorian house in a leafy village only 30min from Central London by tube. Pleasant, leafy surroundings on the edge of Epping Forest in Suburban London with easy access to two Underground stations (Central Line, Zone 4). 2 min walk to High Street shops, 25 min on the train to Central London. There is off street parking available. Will consider hosting up to two people.

    I would welcome approx. 10-15 hours help each week indoors only. You would have at least 3 days off to explore London and beyond. I'm able to be flexible depending on your other commitments with regards to when hours are done. Please detail in your message what type of arrangement would suit you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Local to the area for 40+ years. In exchange I can offer the opportunity to practice English conversation with you and help you improve your language skills.

    Whether you wish to escape the urban sprawl and simply unwind, or want something a little more active, Epping Forest has something for everyone. Quiet, leafy urban village on the East London/Essex border well located 6min walk to two London Underground stations. Only 30min to Central London by tube, we are surrounded by the ancient Epping Forest which is a scenic destination for walks and wildlife spotting.

    There are numerous events throughout the year and plenty of activities to get involved in, from walking and running, and cycling to horse riding, angling, football and even golf. There are also four Visitor Centres to see, with exhibitions, special events and friendly staff to help you find your way around the Forest.

    London is a city rich in culture and history with great food, theatre as well as its famous museums and art galleries. The capital city also contains 35,000 acres of public parks, woodlands and gardens, which means that 40% of its surface area is made up of publicly accessible green space. People come from far away to visit London and its Royal Parks and historic sights such as Karl Marx's grave.

    I will only ask 10-15 hours of your time per week so it would be preferable if you had other occupation outside the house - plans to sightsee, work etc.

    In addition to one bedroom, free Accommodation includes:
    * Access to cooking and laundry facilities - meals are not provided but you would be welcome to use the kitchen to prepare your own food
    * Dishwasher
    * Crockery & cutlery
    * Fridge
    * Bed linen
    * Towels
    * Wi-Fi
    * Staples such as tea, coffee and kombucha provided

  • Ayuda


    Know the difference between a hinge and a bracket? Can you affix a hasp and staple neatly? Without expecting applause?

    Offering free accommodation, inclusive of all amenities [except meals] and a small allowance in exchange for help with cleaning (daily kitchen, weekly full clean), de-cluttering and basic DIY tasks in my home on the East London/Essex border, a quiet, leafy urban village (30min from Central London by tube) listed in the Domesday Book of 1086. You should be a competent handy person.

    Only ask 14-15 hours per week, leaving you plenty of time to explore London's cultural activities as well as the open spaces of the ancient Epping Forest.

    Proven handy person skills
    Basic English

    Able to drive (legally) in the UK
    Access to vehicle – e.g., car club membership [for trips to the dump, charity shops etc]
    Any out of pocket expenses will be met.
    Computer literacy would be a bonus

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    One room in spacious, cluttered home
    Free off street parking is available for several vehicles (you can park your campervan outside the home)
    Sole use of large back garden
    Zone 4 – Central Line stations 5-6 mins walk
    Nine buse routes inc. 24h night ("N") buses: 308 to Hackney, N8 & N55 through Shoreditch and Hackney to Oxford Circus
    Access to cooking and laundry facilities

    Meals are not provided but you would have full access to my kitchen to cook and store your own food.

    Taboo: No lighted candles, deep fat frying or strangers in the night

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...


    No illegal activities
    Smoking outside on covered patio only
    You provide your own food - all diets welcomed
    No religious proselytizing

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I am open to discussion regarding working from the home - please detail your expectations and requirements in your message. Fast broadband and desk will be provided in your room.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Free, off street parking for multiple vehicles is available off-site. Can provide you with hot showers and basic amenities.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 15 hours per week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 559337872412