Help out on at a country home with horses, bees and homegrown fruits and vegetables just outside of Vancouver, Canada

  • 404 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have a country property on 20 acres and are 45 minutes from beautiful Vancouver, BC. We have 6 horses and 3 Highland cows, dog and cat. We have put in a large hazelnut grove, fruit trees, a garden and have tons of blackberry bushes, plus 3 bee hives for honey. We work in the city and from home, owning a design/build award winning construction company. Our children are grown. We have 6 grandchildren from age 1-15 that visit on occasion. Our activities include riding, polo, and working the farm. We have a guest suite in the basement with a kitchen and bath and laundry.

    Hi! We are just a small hobby farm and not a business. We are providing room and board and lots of instruction teaching new skills.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We definitely offer a quiet, country life but right on the edge of a big city with many attractions including mountains and ocean. We would teach some simple skills relating to small farming and using tractors.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with caring for the grove and gardens. There is fence mending and barn cleaning, and moving hay. The horses need grooming and some help with feeding and mucking out. The cows need feeding and watering and moving. There is some general maintenance such as light bulbs, cutting bushes and using the tractor to harrow the riding ring. In season we need help with picking the berries and apples, and the vegetables - planting and growing. This year we have tomatoes, lettuce, kale, beets, onions, carrots, squash, cucumbers and rhubarb. We had raspberries, strawberries and some blueberries. These are small gardens for personal use but require lots of care and watering. I also do some jam making - strawberry -rhubarb and blackberry. The bee hives need attention to protect them and make sure they are thriving. Then we take the combs out, extract the honey and jar it. Sticky, but tasty. We have a full bee suit. In the house we need some cleaning and decluttering in places. We also have a workshop that needs cleaning and better organizing. Lots of rewarding work while Mattie, our Irish Wolfhound puppy, helps out and Captain Jack,our orange cat, looks on.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a guest suite in the basement - warm, clean and comfortable. There is a bathroom, kitchen and laundry in the suite. We can either set you up with your own food to cook and eat downstairs, or eat with you upstairs. We are super busy and often not home for dinner until the weekends. But if someone were cooking it would be wonderful to come home to instead of eating on the run.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are nice, calm, bright sort of people and like our 20 acres to be tranquil. There are tenants in a front house and a garage suite, who are contributing to the happy, friendly energy and we value them. We don't use or tolerate drugs on the property. Smoking can be done in a designated area where it's safe and doesn't bother anyone else. The bus service is not close, but we would gladly drive you to this or take you into town. We would be happy to take you around to orient you to the area and point out things. The best schedule would be work a few hours per day then go explore or we can work it out in another way if that works better. Having good footwear like gumboots for rainy weather, work boots or boots like Blundstones is essential, jeans, rough wear are all good for working outside.

    We don't use or condone cannabis products.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 554864547458

Comentarios (12)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)