1 / 4

Join our friendly, laid-back family in Liverpool, UK, near the beach.



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes



  • Descripción


    We are Mary and Paul, both 44 years old. We have 4 children - Frank (13), Florence (12) and William (10), and Max (5). We also have a small lovely dog called Coco, an axolotl called Zingo, and 2 gerbils called Raven and Hazel.

    We live in a large 8 bedroom house in Waterloo which is a suburb of Liverpool. We have a large garden and good wifi. We are just a few minutes walk to the nearest train station and it takes 20 minutes by train to Liverpool city centre.

    Waterloo is a friendly bustling suburb, with lots of good shops, bars and restaurants. We are 10 minutes walk from the beach, and the Anthony Gormley Another Place statues.

    Liverpool is a wonderful, beautiful and friendly city. There are lots of museums, art galleries and interesting buildings.

    I am a lawyer and work 2-3 days week. I studied Spanish and Arabic at university before law. My Spanish is still good but I have forgotten all of the Arabic! I love spending time with my 4 beautiful children, and finding exciting ways to play with them and make them feel loved and happy. I took up sewing during lockdown and like to make clothes for family and friends. I also started chilly dipping in the sea at a local beach and try to go for a dip at least once every couple of weeks.

    Paul is a self-employed architect and works part-time, usually from home. He likes listening to music and he likes to play guitar although he doesn't play much anymore as he doesn't have time! He loves to potter about doing jobs in the garden.

    The children are all home educated so don't go to school, but do go to various clubs and groups throughout the week.

    We don't smoke, and do not accept smokers.

    We eat meat, but are happy to accept vegetarians or vegans so long as you make your own meals. If you have any allergies or unusual eating habits, please let us know in your message.

    We welcome workawayers from all walks or life, all backgrounds, and all lifestyles. If you have any physical or mental health issues, or any learning difficulties, please let us know, so we can work out in advance if there are any things we can do that would help, or ways we need to adapt to make your stay work.

    Our life consists of busy noisy days, and quiet subdued evenings, as we are always very tired after the children have gone to bed. Don't expect a lot of interesting conversation in the evening! We tend to just slob out in front of the TV.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a busy, noisy household in the daytime, and quiet and relaxed in the evening (when the children are in bed).

    We allow people the flexibility to be as involved with us as a family as much or as little as they feel comfortable. Some of our previous workawayers would hang out with us a lot, eat with us, play with the kids, chat around the table; and some were more introverted so preferred to spend their free time working on their own projects, or out and about in the city. Both, and anything in between, are welcome here.

    The main thing you are likely to learn from us is what life as a busy family with lots of children is like! But in addition both Paul and I (and the kids) are intelligent and well-educated so have a varied knowledge base.

    We can offer a friendly, laid-back home, space to socialise or be alone as you wish, and a base to explore our wonderful city.

  • Au pair

    Ayuda au pair

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    A lot of our time is taken up with childcare and home educating, so having some assistance with this is lovely, and someone who can help around the house with cleaning and tidying and general life admin also makes a big difference.

    Overall, it will be an average of about 20-25 hours per week, but with flexibility.

    If you enjoy cooking (and are any good at it) then making an evening meal a few times a week would be great as well, but it's not essential.

    If you have any other skills that you think might be useful or interesting then let us know. We are doing a lot of DIY and renovation, so tell us if this is something you have experience of. We are open to suggestions. I am interested in self development, meditation, healthy eating, gentle exercise and we are all open to learning new things - let us know what you have to offer!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    Private bedroom and shared bathroom.

    All food is provided. You would normally help yourself to breakfast and lunch. Most days we cook an evening meal which you are very welcome to join, or you can make your own if you prefer.

    Our house is a very large Victorian house that can be cold over the winter months, and we are working on improving this. It needs a lot of work, and we are in the process of doing it up. It is very beautiful, very old, and has been slightly neglected by previous owners so we are giving it the care and attention it needs.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are plenty of free museums and galleries in Liverpool, 2 cathedrals, 2 football stadia, a red squirrel reserve, and a beautiful coastline.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 553768357462

Comentarios (9)



Help at a registered non-profit for equine facilitated learning on Isle of Lewis, Scotland, UK
Join our laidback family in the Scottish countryside near Perth, Scotland