Travelling to or from Scotland? Or to or from Northern Ireland ?See the Scottish Borders countryside, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

162 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

Contacto Registro
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Love to get to know you - looking for someone 18-23 ish (nearest our own children's ages).
    Happy to have guests at short notice (so long as we can fit it in round other plans) so do ask.

    Very short stays (happy to consider just a couple of days) probably suit us best. Maybe you could make it a long weekend during time off at a longer Workaway venue ? We are open to longer stays, though. Depends on work commitments and family - so do ask and I'll see where we're up to.

    In the Scottish Borders, just north of Carlisle, a Victorian house and a big country garden would like some help and company.
    Ideally we are looking for people for just a few days at a time and would be very pleased to host you just for a couple of days if you are travelling up towards Edinburgh, or going south.
    My husband and I work from home, so we are usually here, and we lead a fairly quiet life. Now the children are older (all teens and upwards) the numbers go up and down depending on university holidays and who's doing what, so it's not as busy a house as it used to be. But we would be pleased to spend time with you and find out about your home too.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In historic Scottish Borders, just north of Carlisle. We are close to many interesting historic sites - Hadrian's Wall : Carlisle, with its medieval cathedral and castle and splendid museum: various medieval abbeys and castles : Gretna, famous for runaway marriages in the past
    Very attractive and peaceful rural area. We are a little north of the Lake District (Cumbria) in England
    My subject at university was history, my husband's was botany, my passion is English and we will answer any questions we can !

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    A sort of all year round spring clean! Basic cleaning indoors,taking lots of books off shelves and cleaning everything down. There are lots of windows that need cleaning... and weeds that need attention outside. And we're always happy to have someone else do some cooking !
    And there will be blackcurrants to pick later in the year if they recover from our pruning

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English and a little French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You would have your own room, and we could let you have one of the bathrooms pretty much for yourself: so you'd have a bath but not a shower.
    We try to eat together and would want to include you in that.
    We have wifi but not a television.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are on a bus route, which could take you to Carlisle in 30 mins, or north to Border towns like Selkirk and Hawick. There are buses about every hour through the day: but evening or Sunday travel is more limited.
    Carlisle is on the main London to Glasgow/Edinburgh train line.
    It's not the place for you if you want a night life - we're on the edge of a small village. But if you want some peace and quiet in a rural area - good walks from the house - and to be made welcome for a few days, it might suit you well.
    You will certainly get round more if you have your own transport, but you can see some sights just using public transport
    Depending how long you're here, I may be able to do some sight seeing with you.
    Ideally this would probably work best if you are about the same sort of age as our youngsters - so 18-23 ish because I'll know more what to expect! And if none of our boys are here, I'd be looking for female company.
    We are flexible on the time you stay. Happy to have someone just for a few days - but maybe if it really works well, we could arrange something longer.
    We are early risers (doesn't mean you have to be, though) - larks not owls !

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Three to four hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 553719268516